I Say Matryoshka, You Say Babushka

April 27, 2008 at 3:25 pm 4 comments

I have become very interested in Japanese import fabric and this happily coincided with my interested in sewing in 3-D.  Our little town has a wonderful independent fabric shop that stocks a large selection of the most charming yet modern stuff coming from Japan.

In honor of meeting up with two friends who are adopting baby girls from Kyrgyzstan, I fashioned these little Babushka ladies featuring tiny babushka, or Matryoshka on the fabric.  Yes, Japanese fabric with tiny Russian dolls.  How fun!  The camera made it look like there is a bit of shine on their faces, but in real life, they are not.  Giving credit where it is due, these dolls are from a free pattern at I love Hillary Lang's work and have been really inspired to make softies because of her.

The other book I'm digging is this:

If you didn't catch it from the title, you make the most darling stuff out of....yes, you guessed...
socks and gloves. I haven't actually made anything yet...but I will be.

The craft bug has become a social disease for me, and I couldn't be happier.

Entry filed under: craft, fabric, handmade, repurposed, Sewing, softies, Uncategorized. Tags: .

Welcome to the Cottage… Spare Change Quilt

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Suzanne  |  October 22, 2008 at 9:50 pm

    And yes, the dolls are awesome, too! I can’t wait to see what you make for the Popsicle and me next!
    ;-)
    Suzanne

  • 2. tapsalteerie  |  October 22, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    I just bought that book!! Looks like the craft bug’s bitten us all!! I’m so ashamed at the amount of time I’ve spent on Etsy looking at the import fabrics… I have an eye on some little red riding hood fabric and ribbon to make a “something” for Sophie.

  • 3. April  |  October 26, 2008 at 5:07 pm

    there she is! There’s my girl on the left!
    I love by the way & congrats on yr craft blog.

    Have you checked Persimmon & pink? I have a link
    To her adoption/craft blog on my site. I own one of her
    Blastoid Cats. She does nice work!

    Keep on making!!!!!

  • 4. littlebluecottage  |  October 28, 2008 at 9:19 am

    April,
    I am immediately going to go check out Persimmon & pink. Thanks for the tip!

    Blastoid cats?!!! Sounds GREAT.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

The South Bay Area Modern Quilt Guild

The Patchwork Prism Quilt Along

The Single Girl Support Group

Flickr Photos

image

@yespositively here's a heart for you!  Sorry it's a bit late, but it will be in the mail soon #stashbee #pixelatedheart









More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 145 other followers

Feeds

About Little Blue Cottage

A blog about quilts, quilting, and quilters, with stories of life, love, and fabrics thrown in.

My Pinterest Boards

Quilting Bloggers Logo

WIP Wednesday

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers