A Pink Cat Named Steve, Do You Have Any Spare Change? & 15 yards of Posies

December 2, 2008 at 11:16 am 5 comments

steve-the-cat

I heart Denyse Schmidt…can you tell?  I love her modern design and  how her quilts and books always contain a touch of whimsy.  Above is a picture of a cat I made from her pattern, Three Faces of Steve.  The pattern is from DS’s book Denyse Schmidt Quilts. This little guy worked up quite quickly. I cut out the pattern in the evening, and stitched it up the next morning and had it on time for the baby shower I was taking him to. He and all of his wonkiness made a big splash. He has two different eyes which only adds to his charm.

I’m finishing up my Spare Change quilt. It’s turning out to be a square quilt and for the first time, I’m making the quilting in a very visible red, rather than a color of thread that sort of disappears into the quilt. I think it’s going to be really fun and cheerful when it’s done.

Finally…a question. I received my 15 yards of the Flea Market Fancy in the pear color. Help me with a quilt idea for it. Should it just be the fabric, little or no design? Floating squares? WHAT? It’s a whole lot of green…

Entry filed under: craft, denyse schmidt, fabric, handmade, homemade, kids, quilting, Sewing, softies, Spare Change Quilt, Stash. Tags: .

Drumroll Please…. Five Fabrics & A Cupcake

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. rachel  |  December 2, 2008 at 11:34 am

    oh how cute. :D

    wanna know what i think of when i see your pear fabric???
    i see a gorgeous pinwheel quilt.
    really.
    i mean i know it’s old and boring, but sometimes it just makesa certain fabric come to life.
    make sense???
    i can just see it vividly in my mind.
    {not that my 2 cents are worth anything…lol.}

    can’t wait to see what you are gonna do with it. :D

    p.s. i am SO glad i found your blog last week. it makes me smile.

  • 2. littlebluecottage  |  December 2, 2008 at 11:44 am

    Rachel, you are so nice to say that! That made my day.

    I’ve never made a pinwheel quilt. Is it just triangles, or is it more involved than that?? Must investigate now….

    I was thinking strips with a solid….but still now sure.

    Tina

  • 3. amandajean  |  December 2, 2008 at 12:29 pm

    your cat is cute! I heart denyse schmidt too. she is so very talented. I haven’t made the cat yet, but seeing yours makes me think i should, and soon!

  • 4. rachel  |  December 3, 2008 at 6:39 pm

    oh i can link you to a tutorial that’s perfect.
    {trust me this gal makes so many pinwheel quilts…she’s perfected that are of it…haha.}

    her name is vanessa.
    her blog is v & co.
    and the tutorial can be found:
    http://adayinthelifeofthechristensons.blogspot.com/2008/09/so-its-quilt-month-over-at-mr.html

    hope this helps!!! :D

  • 5. rachel  |  December 3, 2008 at 6:40 pm

    that’s supposed to say ‘art’ not ‘are’

    silly rachel…can’t type. :D

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

The South Bay Area Modern Quilt Guild

The Patchwork Prism Quilt Along

The Single Girl Support Group

Flickr Photos

@yespositively here's a heart for you!  Sorry it's a bit late, but it will be in the mail soon #stashbee #pixelatedheart











More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 143 other followers

Feeds

About Little Blue Cottage

A blog about quilts, quilting, and quilters, with stories of life, love, and fabrics thrown in.

My Pinterest Boards

Quilting Bloggers Logo

WIP Wednesday

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

