Thoughts on a Virtual Quilting Bee

January 3, 2009 at 1:29 pm 41 comments

cottagequiltingbeebutton

Edited to add that we have enough quilters for this bee. Thank you for your interest!!

Would anyone out there be interested in doing a virtual quilting bee based on this one from mamaurchin? I think it would be a wonderful way to connect and share our talent and friendship. If you are interested, please go to the link above and read all the details, but hese are the basic guidelines:

Each month one of the members (that month’s designer) sends me the fabric(s) for their quilt. The designer should send enough fabric for all twelve blocks and an idea or patern for the blocks. I then distribute the fabrics into envelopes and send them on to the other members, keeping one set of fabric for myself. Members then have until the end of the month to create a block that fits in the design idea of the designing member for that month and send it back to me. I gather all 11 blocks together and send them to the designing member. Beginning to get the idea? I absolutely love the idea.

Please leave a comment if you would like to join and are able to commit to this process. One block a month shouldn’t be too much to add to our own projects…right?? If I get 12 people interested right away, we could start in February. What a good way to start the year.

Tina

Entry filed under: blankets, craft, design, fabric, Fabric Swap, handmade, home, quilting, quilting bee, repurposed, Sewing, Stash. Tags: .

Jelly Rolls & Layer Cakes Two Sisters Under One Quilt

41 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Darci  |  January 3, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    I would love to. This would be so exciting. Count me in.

  • 2. Erin  |  January 3, 2009 at 2:30 pm

    I would love to, too! I’ve been wanting to join a virtual quilting bee – what a fun project for this year!

  • 3. Ariana  |  January 3, 2009 at 2:50 pm

    I would love to, I’ve been watching a number of quilting bees online and thinking it would be a lot of fun. I am a newer quilter and I don’t have a sewing blog. I’d love to be a part of this if that’s not a problem.

  • 4. littlebluecottage  |  January 3, 2009 at 5:00 pm

    Oh how fun! Just 8 more people then…

    Shea….

    Anyone?

    Bueller?
    Bueller?
    Bueller?

  • 5. carolyn  |  January 3, 2009 at 6:41 pm

    I’m in…

  • 6. katie pedersen  |  January 3, 2009 at 6:42 pm

    If you’ll take me, count me in.

  • 7. Viv  |  January 3, 2009 at 11:31 pm

    I’d love to join, but that would mean posting international :-( Is that possible?

  • 8. Darci  |  January 4, 2009 at 9:08 am

    I would be willing to make more than one square if needed.

  • 9. John  |  January 4, 2009 at 9:12 am

    I would love to participate! Is there room for a guy in the group? ; )

  • 10. littlebluecottage  |  January 4, 2009 at 10:11 am

    Everyone who wants to join in is welcome. So, we have 7 spots and we need to fill a few more. If anyone wants to post this on their blog, feel free to do so!

    Tina

  • 11. Tacha  |  January 4, 2009 at 11:48 am

    I would love to be in too. Is international alright?

  • 12. nettie  |  January 4, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    I’d love to join. thanks for letting me know!

  • 13. Ariana  |  January 4, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    I am so excited about this. So much so that I am going to expand my blog… which is a running/triathlon training blog… to include sewing. And I am going to start sharing it with people besides myself. Looking forward to working with you all.

  • 14. adina  |  January 4, 2009 at 8:40 pm

    I’d like to do it if there’s more room. Fun, fun, fun!

  • 15. littlebluecottage  |  January 4, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    yes! There’s room. Tell other bloggy friends too.

  • 16. Katy  |  January 5, 2009 at 3:02 am

    I’m in the UK…can I play?

  • 17. Ashley Ann  |  January 5, 2009 at 6:56 am

    I would love to join in!

  • 18. Cathy  |  January 5, 2009 at 7:18 am

    I would love to join.

  • 19. Sudi-Laura Overstreet  |  January 5, 2009 at 7:27 am

    I would love to join in!

  • 20. Jessica Chapman  |  January 5, 2009 at 7:34 am

    I would LOVE to join in. :)

  • 21. Rachael  |  January 5, 2009 at 7:49 am

    I’d love to join, too!

  • 22. littlebluecottage  |  January 5, 2009 at 8:18 am

    Ok, now we have many more than 12. How do we feel about having the quilting bee larger than 12? It would mean that for every month I draw names for who is the designer, and some will not have a month for their own to be the designer. BUT, that would mean that each person gets more squares. What do you think? Let’s decide in the next day or two. If you all have other ideas about how to handle a larger group, let me know! Also, if anyone knows how to make a button with a code for this bee, can you let me know???

    Tina

  • 23. littlebluecottage  |  January 5, 2009 at 8:20 am

    Also, Sudi and Rachael, I need your emails!

  • 24. John  |  January 5, 2009 at 8:43 am

    In other groups, we’ve just made the swap a bit longer. So, if there are 14 people, it would be a 14-month swap. A little bit of a longer commitment, but that way everyone gets a month. Or, you could pick a couple of months to be double-months — two designers, and everyone makes 2 blocks.

  • 25. littlebluecottage  |  January 5, 2009 at 9:37 am

    Great idea John. Ok, so I like the 2 block idea. Any other thoughts??

  • 26. Tacha  |  January 5, 2009 at 9:46 am

    I am not sure how it would work with only having 12 designers but more people making quilts. Would some people get mix and match quilts at the end? I think John has a good idea in either making it last a little longer or having a couple of double months. I personally would go for double months seeing as it is likely we will get behind schedule anyway ;)

  • 27. littlebluecottage  |  January 5, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    Ok, so how I think this is going to work is that we’ll have some months that two deigners are having us make their blocks.

    Tacha, I’m not quite sure what you’re asking about mix and match, but I think that once we get started, you’ll see that we all get our blocks back from the other participants, made into block for us to make into quilt. Let me know if I’m completely not understanding your question.

    Ok, what I’m going to do now is make a separate page at the top of my blog for the quilting bee. I’ll be emailing everyone.

    Tina

  • 28. rachel  |  January 5, 2009 at 1:47 pm

    okay…so….is there room??? or not room???
    and i can make a button!!! really.

  • 29. rachel  |  January 5, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    i can hop aboard next time…really.
    but i WILL make you a button if you want???

  • 30. littlebluecottage  |  January 5, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    Rachel…I think you can join in if you want to…I’m still set it all up. And YES can you make me a button????

    I’m calling it Cottage Quilting Bee.

    LOVE YOU!!

    Tina

  • 31. rachel  |  January 6, 2009 at 10:51 am

    how can i email you???

    ssg3369{at}hotmail{dot}com

  • 32. rachel  |  January 6, 2009 at 10:52 am

    nevermind.
    just found it.

    HUGE dork here!!!

  • 33. Robin  |  January 8, 2009 at 10:36 am

    love to be involved…am I too late?

  • 34. Sharon  |  January 8, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    I’m a very new quilter and would love to participate in a bee that is geared more for beginners. If anyone is hosting one or is interested in mentoring a new quilter.

    la_rubicita at yahoo dot com

  • 35. Ariana  |  January 10, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    Tina here is my email, I emailed you but wasn’t sure if it went through.
    arianabehmer@hotmail.com

  • 36. Saranya  |  January 18, 2009 at 8:27 pm

    I’d love to join. I live in Thailand if it’s ok.

  • 37. littlebluecottage  |  January 19, 2009 at 11:01 pm

    Sorry Saranya,

    We already have more than I anticipated. Maybe the next quilting bee I host you can join.

    Tina

  • 38. Hilary  |  January 23, 2009 at 9:00 am

    Hi Tina!

    My mom is a quilt nut so I showed her your blog. She said to tell you she loves your fabric choices! Mom says she’s getting ready to try a pattern called Quilter’s Puzzle by Liz Schwartz& Stephen Seifert eQuiltPatterns.com its a fun way to use fat 8′s or scraps.

  • 39. I’m Part of a Virtual Quilting Bee « Fruitful Words  |  May 18, 2009 at 6:19 am

    [...] be to do with people we know.  Anyone want to join us? We’d start in September. Go here , here and here for a clue about what I’m jabbering on [...]

  • 40. yolanda  |  March 8, 2010 at 5:39 am

    I would love to join!!

  • 41. yolanda  |  March 8, 2010 at 5:41 am

    i just read i might be too late — if there are others that wish to start a second/parallel group i would help with the mailing/postage and extra block making

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

The South Bay Area Modern Quilt Guild

The Patchwork Prism Quilt Along

The Single Girl Support Group

Flickr Photos

Low volume cross block

Back of the Pantone Quilt

Feather Quilt is here!

Closeup of the Pantone Quilt - radiant orchid feathers.



For ModQimprovB February block

More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 142 other followers

Feeds

About Little Blue Cottage

A blog about quilts, quilting, and quilters, with stories of life, love, and fabrics thrown in.

My Pinterest Boards

Quilting Bloggers Logo

WIP Wednesday

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

