Dare to be Square

January 13, 2009 at 8:04 am 10 comments

img_swellquilt0001

I really love this method.  These are improvisational squares, chain-pieced together.  I don’t know if these squares qualify as wonky, or if they are more in the ‘what a bunch of squares’ type of square.  Either way, I’m having a whole lot of fun making each one.  I have quite a bit of this fabric and I’m going to see how large of a quilt I can make.  I am going to make it square, rather than rectangular because I think the squares in a square quilt will look really good.  I love the jade color. 

In quilting bee news, I hear that the first set of fabrics is on its way to me!  I can’t wait to see them all and to send them out to our group of quilters.

Entry filed under: blankets, design, fabric, handmade, quilting, Sewing, wip, wonky. Tags: .

Sunday Stash Birdie Bag

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. rachel  |  January 13, 2009 at 8:23 am

    oh i love those fabrics!!!
    can’t wait to see your blocks.

    and yayyy for getting the fabric soon!!!
    SUPER excited about this quilting bee.

  • 2. Darci  |  January 13, 2009 at 8:31 am

    I can’t wait for you to get the fabrics!

    I love the ones you have done so far, the colors are great and will make such a pretty quilt.

  • 3. littlebluecottage  |  January 13, 2009 at 7:44 pm

    Darci….fabrics are HERE!!! They’re gorgeous!

  • 4. CAB  |  January 13, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    Wow, these look like they’d go right along w/the ones I posted about today – I’m planning a “green” quilt for my son! Just happened onto your blog and am trying to find more time to look around!

  • 5. Debye  |  January 14, 2009 at 6:50 am

    I love the fabrics and I share your love of wonky squares!

  • 6. littlebluecottage  |  January 14, 2009 at 7:38 am

    Cab – I like that picture of your green fabrics. Green is my favorite color for sure.I hope you come back. I try to post often.

    Debye – Thanks!

  • 7. Catherine  |  January 14, 2009 at 7:57 am

    Thanks Debye, I hope to visit often – I’m a beginning quilter so I’m probably not ready for any big swaps yet, but would like to try one out in the future. With baby #5 due any time in the next 2 weeks, now wouldn’t be the best time for me anyway so I guess I can’t be too sad that I found out about yours and your site when I did :) Not to mention, the whole “beginner” thing!

    If you have any thoughts on a pattern or ideas for a quilt w/my green fabrics, please do come on over and share at my blog :) I’m thinking of just doing strips? (might not be the right term!) and then shifting them back and forth so they don’t all line up perfectly on the seams – just something kind of random and a little “wild” for a boy – if you look back a tiny bit on my blog you’ll see the baby quilt top I made recently for the new baby – it’s my first completed top! I don’t think any of my family/friends that read the blog regularly are quilters so I don’t think anyone was as excited as *I* was about it! Maybe you, as a quilter, will appreciate the feeling of accomplishment! This has gotten wayyy too long – thanks again for the welcome – enjoying checking out your blog!

  • 8. amandajean  |  January 14, 2009 at 10:01 am

    your blocks are looking GREAT!!!

  • 9. littlebluecottage  |  January 14, 2009 at 7:59 pm

    Catherine,

    Your idea for a boy quilt is nice. It will be easy and the randomness will let the fabrics really shine.

    Good luck with the birth of your baby girl! I really liked your swaddle blankets. I love circles.

    Amanda Jean, thank you so much. I’m not sure if it’s the same as your improv. piecing, but I’m happy with the method I came up wtih for now.

    Tina

  • 10. Cheryl A  |  January 15, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    Very nice colour combo! Go for square! Square quilts are the best.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

The South Bay Area Modern Quilt Guild

The Patchwork Prism Quilt Along

The Single Girl Support Group

Flickr Photos

@yespositively here's a heart for you!  Sorry it's a bit late, but it will be in the mail soon #stashbee #pixelatedheart











More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 143 other followers

Feeds

About Little Blue Cottage

A blog about quilts, quilting, and quilters, with stories of life, love, and fabrics thrown in.

My Pinterest Boards

Quilting Bloggers Logo

WIP Wednesday

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

