Any Way You Slice It

February 17, 2009 at 10:06 pm 7 comments

img_slicequilt00011
Here I am again working on another Denyse Schmidt quilt. I started cutting strips last night thinking that I’d be making a wall hanging for my lovely sewing corner which has an empty wall that’s calling out to be adorned with something handmade. But, as soon as I put these four blocks together, I knew I’d be starting another quilt that will live on the couch. Unfortunately, I was too late to join in on Project Improv but looking at what people are creating and designing is so inspirational that I felt compelled to do more of this type of work. These blocks are fast and fun, the way I like it. I’m not piecing in the way that the book shows, which is to use templates (very un-Denyse-like if you ask me…) I’m just putting strips together as fast as I can, without thinking about the layout of the strips too much and then putting my 9 1/2 inch square ruler on top at a 45 degree angle and then trimming with a rotary cutter.   Oh! And all my fabrics are from my stash, which is one promise I made to myself – More Quilting From the In-House Fabric Depot. I hope this quilt goes faster than my Swell quilt from my last post.  Speaking of fast,  AmandaJean (aka Crazy Mom) blogs about her Juki TL-98Q and how fast and great it is. Now, this amazing quilter makes beautiful quilts at a rate that is mind-boggling and enviable. But, I asked myself, “Can a different machine really be that different?”

Yes.
Man, oh man.
Yes.

The family and I packed up and drove a good while to go look, visit and pet one. Before I could even sit down at this little beauty, my seven year-old squeezed in, stepped on the pedal and away she went. The owner was beaming at her. So, on her first go at stippling, she was going at def-con speed, and making a beautiful pattern, and the tension was good and handled her quick movements. It was then that I understood. This machine is strong like bull, has perfect tensioning, has a large throat, can be used with a quilting frame, and it doesn’t cost anywhere near the other long and mid-arm quilting machines. It has a serious motor that you can literally feel as you stitch away. It is a no-frills kind of machine which I think is why it is so good at what it does. When I have saved my pennies, I will have no hesitation in buying this machine.

Wanna know what brings up needing a quilting machine? I had to bring my Swell quilt to the local quilters becase pushing a large throw-size quilt just about killed me. The machine will pay for itself…

Entry filed under: blankets, denyse schmidt, design, fabric, handmade, quilting, quilts, Sewing, Stash, wip. Tags: .

Slow Going She Sews! She Wins Ribbon!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Viv  |  February 17, 2009 at 10:56 pm

    I wonder how much Juki’s are over here. I’m after a stitch regulator for my machine, but have to upgrade to a newer one :-( I’m a Bernina girl :-)

  • 2. littlebluecottage  |  February 17, 2009 at 10:59 pm

    Hi Viv!

    I have a Bernina too that I call Bernadette. I really love it too, but the quilting part of making a quilt, has become very difficult. The Juki has a large throat, giving you a larger area for your quilt to go.

    Maybe you’re going to have to come visit us over here and go shop hopping and bring home one of these beauties.

  • 3. rachel  |  February 18, 2009 at 5:48 am

    cute block tina!!!
    and it’s all from your stash…go you!!!

    so you fell in love with a juki huh???
    i will have to test drive one of these beast. :D

  • 4. amandajean  |  February 18, 2009 at 8:06 am

    i’m glad that you got to try out a juki. they are wonderful, aren’t they? i love your block. good for you for using the stash! that’s something i need to get better at doing. i’ve been doing some serious stash building. oy.

  • 5. Amy @ parkcitygirl  |  February 18, 2009 at 8:12 am

    Love your scrappy squares! An able machine makes all the difference :)

  • 6. littlebluecottage  |  February 18, 2009 at 10:49 am

    RAchel, if you can try one…do it! You’ll be amazed.

    Amandajean, thank you for directing me towards this machine. I get it now!

    Amy, thanks!

  • 7. Alissa  |  February 18, 2009 at 4:15 pm

    Oh you are so making me covet a new sewing machine! Love the quilt block!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

The South Bay Area Modern Quilt Guild

The Patchwork Prism Quilt Along

The Single Girl Support Group

Flickr Photos

@yespositively here's a heart for you!  Sorry it's a bit late, but it will be in the mail soon #stashbee #pixelatedheart











More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 143 other followers

Feeds

About Little Blue Cottage

A blog about quilts, quilting, and quilters, with stories of life, love, and fabrics thrown in.

My Pinterest Boards

Quilting Bloggers Logo

WIP Wednesday

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

