Spring Fever Hits

March 23, 2009 at 9:59 pm 5 comments

img_springpear40001

We had a few days last week where nothing much was done except a lot of soup-eating, sniffing, and movie-watching.   I had some pretty bored kids after awhile and so when the little one was in bed, Suzannah and took up with the needle and thread and started in on some embroidery.  I had some flour-sack towels ready for embellishing and lots of floss on hand and Suzannah picked out something that could be transfered onto the towel, and I picked a design from this book, which I lurve.  Suzannah decided not to show her towel until hers is done. 

Then, as quickly as we had been hit with all our bugs, they went away.  Happy girls meant I could spend a little time finishing up some projects and thinking about more fabric.  It seems that all kinds of fabulous fabrics have come out while we were holed up at home and so without further yakkity yakking…here’s the recent haul:

img_spring10001

This will be for Isabel – a simple a-line dress or blouse. 

img_spring20001

Have you seen the new Moda line?  ‘Wonderland’ from momo.  I’m seriously in love with the whole line.  All of it makes me want to sew for my girls.  I love those flowers and the colors. 

img_spring30001

These are some fat quarters from Urban Chiks new line.  I think these would make a nice baby blanket.  All of these fabrics are very much out of my usual fare, but I seriously needed some jelly bean colors around here.  All of this really lifted my spirits. 

What lifts you out of your doldrums?  I’d love to hear.

Entry filed under: design, embroidery, fabric, handmade, home, kids, Sewing, Stash. Tags: .

Come And Get It! Flea Market Fancy Swell Squares – finally done.

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. imagingermonkey  |  March 24, 2009 at 12:15 am

    I’m glad to hear you’re feeling better!

    I love wonderland too, I got a charm pack but I think I need to buy up a whole load of it!

    The sunshine and some new fabric in the mail lifts me out of the doldrums, every time!

  • 2. Tacha  |  March 24, 2009 at 1:15 am

    Oooh love that pear! It is gorgeous. And the wonderland line. At first I was not into it. But the more I see, the more I like!

  • 3. Jackie  |  March 24, 2009 at 3:52 pm

    Glad to hear everyone is well!

    Where do you get your flour sack towels from? I’ve been looking around but have been concerned about quality. Do you prewash them? The fabric? Yours are really cute!

  • 4. littlebluecottage  |  March 24, 2009 at 4:46 pm

    These towels are from the Martha Stewart line at Kmart. I’m sure they’re made in China, but they’ve been really nice for embroidery so far.

    Sur La Table carries a very nice quality flour sack towel. You could check out their website, or go to a store if you have one locally.

    Tina

  • 5. diane  |  March 24, 2009 at 5:47 pm

    your fabrics and dishtowel have lifted me, now I’d better get up to the sewing room and quit reading blogs!!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

The South Bay Area Modern Quilt Guild

The Patchwork Prism Quilt Along

The Single Girl Support Group

Flickr Photos

@yespositively here's a heart for you!  Sorry it's a bit late, but it will be in the mail soon #stashbee #pixelatedheart











More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 143 other followers

Feeds

About Little Blue Cottage

A blog about quilts, quilting, and quilters, with stories of life, love, and fabrics thrown in.

My Pinterest Boards

Quilting Bloggers Logo

WIP Wednesday

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

