Two Quilts in Progress

April 8, 2009 at 4:22 pm 5 comments

I’m not posting nearly enough I think. Finding more time for piecing and quilting gets more and more difficult. I really love to stay up late at night and sew for a few hours, but I pay for it the next day. How do you all find balance?

Anyway, I have finished the deconstructed Any Way You Slice It quilt. I was very surprised to find that I didn’t enjoy this way of piecing. However, I’m really happy with how this is turning out. This vertical column of blocks will be offset, leaving a large open area. Binding will be dark brown, or a scrappy binding.
img_vertical20001

And, for something completely different, a baby quilt that I wasn’t expecting to make but my daughter Suzannah insisted I make something for her principal’s wife who just had a baby girl who has an ocean-themed nursery:
img_mermaid10001

I need to figure out how to do the umbrella handles. I’m going to make a sand castle next to the pile of ‘seaweed’ Any other suggestions for what to add in are totally welcome! This has been a fun project because it is so completely out of my regular work.   Batiks!  A completely new world of fabrics that I have normally stayed way away from.  The three small circles will be sand dollars and the striped rectangle is a beach towel.  Does it need a bucket?

Entry filed under: blankets, craft, denyse schmidt, fabric, handmade, kids, quilting, quilts, Stash, wip. Tags: .

Swell Squares – finally done. Quilting For A Cause

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy @ parkcitygirl  |  April 8, 2009 at 9:40 pm

    Balance!? I tend to play one night and sleep the next :)

    Your quilt projects are really fun! Love the playfulness of the baby quilt :)

  • 2. tina frye  |  April 8, 2009 at 10:45 pm

    Both are very cute! I like to stay up late and sew,too.I have tried waking up early to get that extra time I would have staying up late but it is just not the same. My creativity flows more naturaly at night. I have yet to find a good balance. I always like your quilts!

  • 3. Katy  |  April 9, 2009 at 6:22 am

    beautiful!
    I can’t wait to see the ocean themed one finished!

  • 4. kathleen, troon, scotland  |  April 13, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    It needs a bucket! How about a starfish or two, and some octopi? There are bound to be some printed fabrics somewhere with lovely octopusses! Good luck xx

  • 5. bathe  |  June 7, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    I’m mad about batik. Love that fabric you’re using for sea. Looking forward to more!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

The South Bay Area Modern Quilt Guild

The Patchwork Prism Quilt Along

The Single Girl Support Group

Flickr Photos

@yespositively here's a heart for you!  Sorry it's a bit late, but it will be in the mail soon #stashbee #pixelatedheart











More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 145 other followers

Feeds

About Little Blue Cottage

A blog about quilts, quilting, and quilters, with stories of life, love, and fabrics thrown in.

My Pinterest Boards

Quilting Bloggers Logo

WIP Wednesday

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

