Quilting For A Cause

April 22, 2009 at 12:06 am 6 comments

Yet more uncharted quilting territory is being made here in my newest WIP.  This quilt is for my daughter’s  school benefit, where it will be auctioned off.  This is the first time I’ve quilted for good and not just for myself or for a gift.  It’s a great feeling, but the quilt itself will be up against some tough competition.  There are play dates with teachers and ice cream, rock climbing with the principal, farm dinners and other goodies.  In any case, this quilt is ready to be sandwiched and quilted.  If I have time, I’m going to add embroidery to the middle squares.  If I really hustle on the embroidery, maybe I can make a tree and owl pillow to match. 

img_pbarn0001

The background fabric is from Pottery Barn Kids, I believe this pattern is called Brooke.  I bought a twin set of bedding along with a duvet cover when it was on deep discount thinking that I would save this for when Izzy was ready for a big girl bed.  But, I think that in the next year, I’ll find or see something I love even more, as I tend to fall in love with bedding all the time.  I think of it as my gateway drug to quilting.  Here’s a little closeup:

img_pbarn20001

Ok, that’s not much closer.  When I have some nice girly embroidery on here, I’ll get a nice closeup.

Entry filed under: craft, embroidery, fabric, handmade, kids, quilts, repurposed, Sewing, Stash, wip. Tags: .

Two Quilts in Progress Quilt-Along with Amanda Jean

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katy  |  April 22, 2009 at 9:37 am

    I saw the brooke bedding when I was over in the US in february – and I loved it. Shame I don’t have a small enough girl for it though! That said, if I was at the fundraiser for your school I’d be bidding like a mad woman to get my hands on that quilt, it’s going to be beautiful!

  • 2. amandajean  |  April 24, 2009 at 5:48 pm

    i love that pottery barn sheet fabric. someone sent me a piece of that fabric and i have been hoarding it ever since. :)

  • 3. Jennifer  |  April 26, 2009 at 4:58 pm

    *Gasp* I LOVE it! Wish I was at the auction!!

  • 4. metrosupialdesigns  |  April 27, 2009 at 7:50 pm

    adorable! I have always loved that bedding and have been tempted to buy it. Some one so sweetly mailed me some for my “flock” bird quilt.

  • 5. AJ  |  April 28, 2009 at 11:34 am

    That is so pretty!

  • 6. V  |  May 17, 2009 at 4:38 am

    do you machine applique these one or by hand? its’ very cute.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

The South Bay Area Modern Quilt Guild

The Patchwork Prism Quilt Along

The Single Girl Support Group

Flickr Photos

Low volume cross block

Back of the Pantone Quilt

Feather Quilt is here!

Closeup of the Pantone Quilt - radiant orchid feathers.



For ModQimprovB February block

More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 142 other followers

Feeds

About Little Blue Cottage

A blog about quilts, quilting, and quilters, with stories of life, love, and fabrics thrown in.

My Pinterest Boards

Quilting Bloggers Logo

WIP Wednesday

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

