Quilt-Along with Amanda Jean

April 27, 2009 at 10:46 pm 10 comments

This sounded way too fun to pass up.  Quilting Goddess and Crazy Mom, Amanda Jean is hosting a quilt-along. For all of us who sign up, we’ll be making a quilt based on the classic 9-patch block.  Amanda Jean was inspired to make this quilt for herself, based on this one…
mosaic-9_patch_quilt

Who wouldn’t want to quilt something that simple and beautiful?  I knew immediately that I wanted to join in.  I went to my stash and started pulling out blues and greens for a more tonal quilt.  Here’s what I have all ready to go (the quilt-along part of this is making one block a day.  I’m already behind!!)

img_quiltalong10001

I’m eager to see how these colors interact and play together.  I’m excited to be using some of my Flea Market Fancy stash in the blues and greens that I’ve been hoarding for a project worthy of it.  Check back for progress and updates – or check out the Flickr group for this project.

Entry filed under: denyse schmidt, design, fabric, Flea Market Fancy, handmade, quilt-along, quilting, Sewing, Stash. Tags: .

Quilting For A Cause Feathered Friend

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jennifer  |  April 28, 2009 at 4:34 am

    Those blue and green fabrics look absolutely GORGEOUS! What fabric lines are they??

  • 2. Stefanie  |  April 28, 2009 at 5:43 am

    Hello and nice to meet you! I came across your blog after seeing your quilt on Sweet Liberty’s blog. I love the quilt that you made for her! Right now I am love with everything!

    Can’t wait to see what is next

  • 3. Erin  |  April 28, 2009 at 7:40 am

    I’m thinking of joining this one … as if I need more on my plate right now! LOL. But this is the first quilt that is very classic/traditional looking that I’ve just loved. And one block a day (or I can see myself doing 7 one day of the week) doesn’t seem too bad! :)

  • 4. rachel  |  April 28, 2009 at 7:49 am

    ooohhhh i love your fabric choices!!!
    i’m doing amanda’s quilt along too!!!

  • 5. littlebluecottage  |  April 28, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    Jennifer, most of these are Flea Market Fancy by Denyse Schmidt.

    Nice to meet you too Stefanie!

    Erin – a block a day is so do-able.

    Rachel – of COURSE you’re doing this quilt-a-long!!! You’re so productive, I’m really jealous!

  • 6. Goddess in Progress  |  April 28, 2009 at 7:01 pm

    Hiya, found you through the Flickr pool for the quiltalong. I’m doing it too, my very first! How fun. And I love your fabrics. Mine is a lot less planned, I’m just pulling out random bits from the stash. We’ll see how it goes…

    http://www.teenytinyquilts.com

  • 7. rosewillow  |  April 29, 2009 at 2:18 am

    Thanks for posting about Amandajean’s quilt-along. I’ve joined too! I love your fabrics. Take care — Dianne B. in England

  • 8. Ginger  |  April 29, 2009 at 6:36 am

    I think those fabrics will be great together. Have fun.

  • 9. withinaquarterinch  |  May 1, 2009 at 7:19 am

    Beautiful combination!

  • 10. Nanette  |  May 14, 2009 at 6:44 am

    Lovely stuff. YOu’ve got a great blog. Very inspirational.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

The South Bay Area Modern Quilt Guild

The Patchwork Prism Quilt Along

The Single Girl Support Group

Flickr Photos

Low volume cross block

Back of the Pantone Quilt

Feather Quilt is here!

Closeup of the Pantone Quilt - radiant orchid feathers.



For ModQimprovB February block

More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 142 other followers

Feeds

About Little Blue Cottage

A blog about quilts, quilting, and quilters, with stories of life, love, and fabrics thrown in.

My Pinterest Boards

Quilting Bloggers Logo

WIP Wednesday

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

