Gee’s That’s A Lot of Yellow

June 29, 2009 at 4:13 pm 9 comments

IMG_GEES.YELLOW0001

This month, it’s all about me.   Well, me and Adina.  For the Cottage Quilting Bee, the two of us are designers.  I’ll be Sending out my most favorite yellow fabrics and having my bee peeps stitch a Gee’s bend inspired block.  For those of you not familiar with the amazing quilts of Gee’s Bend, feast your eyes.  Here are a few examples…

gees1

gees2

gees3

gees4

This last picture is only inspired by the Gee’s Bend quilts, however, it is a style I love and adore which is why I’ll be asking my Cottage Quilting Bee participants to be making blocks like this for moi.   I very much want squares within squares within squares.  Each block can have many squares in it like the one directly above on the right, or it can have as few as three.  Each square within the block can have 1 to 3 fabrics in it like above in the pink, green, blue and grey quilt.  One square on the right has both green and pink fabrics.  I hope this is clear.  If you have any questions, please feel free to email me here or at Flickr or leave a comment below.  Ok…fabrics going out today!  Thanks everyone!

Entry filed under: blankets, cottage quilting bee, craft, denyse schmidt, design, fabric, Gee's' Bend, handmade, quilt-along, quilting, quilting bee, quilts, Sewing, Stash, wip, wonky. Tags: .

A Princess, A Unicorn, Various Slimy Creatures & One Tiny Pea Hi. My Name Is Tina.

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jaybird  |  June 29, 2009 at 7:16 pm

    i like where you are going with this! i look forward to seeing your blocks as they come in!

  • 2. Darci  |  June 29, 2009 at 7:20 pm

    Love it!!! Can’t wait.

  • 3. highwaycottage  |  June 30, 2009 at 1:14 am

    Oh I love yellow, can’t wait to get started !!!

  • 4. John  |  June 30, 2009 at 8:53 am

    Sounds good! And your fabrics are wonderful. This will be a fun month!

  • 5. Erin  |  June 30, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    I have every single fabric in that picture – but I would have never thought to put them all together! That’s one place where I totally lack in creativity! But they look amazing together and the quilt is going to be beautiful!

  • 6. Joan Callaway  |  June 30, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    I love the quilts of Gee’s Bend. Can’t wait to see what it inspires….

  • 7. adina  |  July 1, 2009 at 8:46 am

    oh, great. this will be somewhat new to me…exciting!

  • 8. metrosupialdesigns  |  July 4, 2009 at 3:25 am

    So awesome. I love these kinda blocks and they don’t even stress me out.

  • 9. Katy  |  July 6, 2009 at 1:43 am

    awesome! This is going to be great!!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

The South Bay Area Modern Quilt Guild

The Patchwork Prism Quilt Along

The Single Girl Support Group

Flickr Photos

Low volume cross block

Back of the Pantone Quilt

Feather Quilt is here!

Closeup of the Pantone Quilt - radiant orchid feathers.



For ModQimprovB February block

More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 142 other followers

Feeds

About Little Blue Cottage

A blog about quilts, quilting, and quilters, with stories of life, love, and fabrics thrown in.

My Pinterest Boards

Quilting Bloggers Logo

WIP Wednesday

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

