Daisy Chain Squares- A Quilt for Sarah

July 20, 2009 at 11:45 am 10 comments

This is my most recent finish, a nearly twin-sized quilt for my sister Sarah.  She’s getting married in August and I really wanted to make her and her wonderful fiancee a quilt in colors I was sure they would like.  Amy Butler’s line from Daisy Chain provided just the perfect balance of neutral with fresh color. 

IMG_Amy butler front0001

There are 12 squares, each 12 – 14 inches.  I put the squares right to the edge, which I like.  I think doing that gives it a more modern feel.  Also, in the sashing, I tried a different kind of quilting.  I was inspired by this blogger who does a similar kind of quilting and whose work I really enjoy.  You can see it more clearly here on the back.  It’s a sort of wavy, overlapping stitching.

IMG_Amy Butler Back0001

I love that tiny block on the bottom. 

I was able to give this to Sarah over the weekend at her bridal shower.  I am so happy to give this to her at such a happy time in life.

Entry filed under: Amy Butler, craft, design, fabric, handmade, quilting, quilts, Sewing, Stash. Tags: .

Hi. My Name Is Tina. School Clothes

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Evelyn  |  July 20, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    It’s really beautiful! I love everything about it, especially the wavy-line quilting. Great quilt!

  • 2. Kris  |  July 20, 2009 at 2:14 pm

    I really like the wavy quilting! What an inspiring look!

  • 3. Viv  |  July 20, 2009 at 5:09 pm

    You have such a lucky sister. That is one very beautiful quilt! I love the quilting you’ve done on it, I need to have a go at that too.

  • 4. littlebluecottage  |  July 20, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    Thanks everyone. Viv, it was really fun, and also nice to have something different to do for the quilting.

  • 5. Shea  |  July 21, 2009 at 6:58 am

    I love the colors… so pretty!

  • 6. adrienne  |  July 21, 2009 at 10:06 am

    Beautiful gift! I really like the pieced back and the wavy quilting. =]

  • 7. jaybird  |  July 21, 2009 at 5:53 pm

    what a lovely quilt!!!

  • 8. Cheryl  |  July 23, 2009 at 5:02 am

    What a wonderful and thoughtful gift for you to give! I love the subtle and soft colors. So pretty, it looks great!

  • 9. Audrie  |  July 23, 2009 at 10:10 pm

    The colours are just beautiful! Such a wonderful gift :)

  • 10. Leona  |  September 8, 2009 at 7:12 am

    Tina–you are FABULOUS–I love all your work (or is it PLAY, really?). Everything is so beautiful and fabulous, and the girls and their outfits are adorable!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

The South Bay Area Modern Quilt Guild

The Patchwork Prism Quilt Along

The Single Girl Support Group

Flickr Photos

Low volume cross block

Back of the Pantone Quilt

Feather Quilt is here!

Closeup of the Pantone Quilt - radiant orchid feathers.



For ModQimprovB February block

More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 142 other followers

Feeds

About Little Blue Cottage

A blog about quilts, quilting, and quilters, with stories of life, love, and fabrics thrown in.

My Pinterest Boards

Quilting Bloggers Logo

WIP Wednesday

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

