Sunday Stash – Red, Pink & Aqua

September 20, 2009 at 7:48 pm 3 comments

 

IMG_russian.dolls0001

This gem of a piece is handprinted by the lovely and talented Shannon Lambden, otherwise known as  aunty cookie who designs a whole range of fabrics and other products with her whimsical illustrations.  I’d been thinking about ordering a little something from her when I saw this panel available and knew it was the one.  My girls have decided (Rather, Suzannah decided with some direction from me and Izzy nodded her head sweetly in agreement) that they want their room to be red, pink and aqua.  I am only too happy to oblige and soon I’ll be making a duvet cover from these little lovlies….I especially love the tulips and the oversized flowers.  This is going to be fun.  Though, I have no experience making a duvet cover.  Note to self, figure out how to make duvet cover for daughters.  Please advise, early and often!

IMG_pinkredaqua0001

Entry filed under: blankets, craft, design, fabric, home, homemade, kids, quilting, quilts, Sewing, Stash, sunday stash, wip. Tags: .

Appropos of Nothing…New Puppies, New Do & The Princess Turns Three WIP Wednesday

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Audrie  |  September 20, 2009 at 9:42 pm

    Beautiful fabrics! Red + aqua = my favourite colour combo :)

  • 2. Kris  |  September 21, 2009 at 3:29 am

    When I made a duvet cover for myself, I just sewed a wide hem on one side of each piece (the top and bottom) and then sewed the two pieces right sides together but not all the way across on the side with the hem. I finished it off by adding buttons and buttonholes to the hemed edges.

    I also added snaps in the corners of the cover on the inside and to corners of the duvet so that it all stayed put. I’ve also seen some with ties sewn into the corners for the same reason.

  • 3. Lisa  |  September 22, 2009 at 11:53 am

    I love the little ducks (or swans)!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

The South Bay Area Modern Quilt Guild

The Patchwork Prism Quilt Along

The Single Girl Support Group

Flickr Photos

Low volume cross block

Back of the Pantone Quilt

Feather Quilt is here!

Closeup of the Pantone Quilt - radiant orchid feathers.



For ModQimprovB February block

More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 142 other followers

Feeds

About Little Blue Cottage

A blog about quilts, quilting, and quilters, with stories of life, love, and fabrics thrown in.

My Pinterest Boards

Quilting Bloggers Logo

WIP Wednesday

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

