WIP Wednesday

September 23, 2009 at 3:21 am 5 comments

Flea Market Fancy – A Decision Has Been Made!

After looking at many different squares, blocks, triangles, hexagons (half or otherwise) snowballs and the like, I started cutting into the blue flea market fancy.

Much has been written and blogged over this colorway of this particular line of fabric by me and many others.  I’ve traded and swapped for it and even called little shops all over the country in search of it.  Basically, it’s called hoarding.  This past week, I swapped for another half yard, plus a fat quarter of the creme de la creme blue bouquet and I said to myself that the time had come.  I want to enjoy the prints, not have them on my fabric shelf, as pretty as they are sitting there.  So, without any further ado…here it is. 

IMG_FMFquilt10001The blocks are 6″ and there are only four fabrics that I’ve settled on.  The other three are kona cotton in bleached white, the pinky-red coordinating barbells, and Amy Butler’s full moon dots. 

It’s all about the fabric….

Entry filed under: Amy Butler, blankets, craft, denyse schmidt, design, fabric, Flea Market Fancy, handmade, quilting, Sewing, Stash, swap, wip. Tags: .

Sunday Stash – Red, Pink & Aqua Coincidence? Or, Divine Intervention…

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anne  |  September 23, 2009 at 3:41 am

    That’s going to be beautiful! It must feel liberating to go ahead and start cutting your fabric!

  • 2. wishes, true and kind  |  September 23, 2009 at 4:51 am

    I like it! Clean and simple, so you can enjoy the beauty of the fabrics. I’m hoarding a few fabrics right now, but it’s always so satisfying to cut into them for just the right project!

  • 3. Audrie  |  September 23, 2009 at 9:10 am

    Gorgeous! It’d difficult for me to cut into and use fabrics I love and have in my stash… but once I do, I’m so glad I did.

  • 4. kathleen  |  September 27, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    De-lurking just to say – that quilt is going to be GORGEOUS.

  • 5. Jackie  |  September 28, 2009 at 3:23 am

    I think you’ll love it even more now that it’s in a project!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

The South Bay Area Modern Quilt Guild

The Patchwork Prism Quilt Along

The Single Girl Support Group

Flickr Photos

@yespositively here's a heart for you!  Sorry it's a bit late, but it will be in the mail soon #stashbee #pixelatedheart











More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 143 other followers

Feeds

About Little Blue Cottage

A blog about quilts, quilting, and quilters, with stories of life, love, and fabrics thrown in.

My Pinterest Boards

Quilting Bloggers Logo

WIP Wednesday

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

