Coincidence? Or, Divine Intervention…

September 30, 2009 at 11:27 pm 5 comments

So, it all started out innocently enough.  I was excited!   I made  the big executive decision to merge the girls’ things into one room.  Here’s why: they sleep together anyway and they hardly use the other as a playroom. 

I wickedly and swiftly had my own sewing room.  I cannot show you pictures yet because it is still quite messy and I wouldn’t want to confuse you all with imperfection.  (HA!)  So, after the machine had been moved in, and I figured out storage, and the like, it came time to decorate a bit.  I’d had this cheater print from Denyse Schmidt for awhile and didn’t have any grand plans for it and so this is what has become of it. I cut three squares and stretched them over a canvas frame from the art supply store.  I love them.

IMG_countyfair30001

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So, I had a fair amount left over. I thought that the nice home dec weight of the canvas, and those lovely, wacky squares would turn into a nice bag or tote. So, I started to make one and here’s what we have so far….

IMG_countyfair.purse0001

I’m pretty excited about making a bag out of this.  I’m using Peltex fusible stabilizer so it will be extra boxy and have firm sides, which I like.  And, what’s the big deal about making a bag out of this?  Well, it’s not.  Except, a few mornings later, I opened up my Denyse Schmidt newsletter email to find this.

Hmmm.  Interesting.  County Fair fabrics are in the air I suppose.  Well, they were.  Literally. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fastforward a few days and what comes in the mail for me?  My DQS7 quilt from my partner.  It was her first step into the quilting world and I think she made a great, sweet quilt.  Uh…notice a theme here?

IMG_DQS7-received0001

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And not only did she make this, but she sent leftover stash…

IMG_dqs7.close0001

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So there you have it.  Do things really happen in threes?  I say yes.

Entry filed under: blankets, craft, denyse schmidt, design, fabric, Fabric Swap, Flea Market Fancy, gifty, handmade, home, homemade, quilt-along, quilting, quilts, Sewing, swap. Tags: .

WIP Wednesday Thoughtful Spot

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. littlebluecottage  |  September 30, 2009 at 11:29 pm

    and by the way, I’m having major trouble formatting my posts. What is up with all those spaces lately? help.

  • 2. Audrie  |  October 1, 2009 at 12:22 am

    I definitely agree that things tend to happen in threes. Congrats on your new sewing room :) Wish I could help with the formatting but I don’t use WordPress so I’ve no clue.

  • 3. Anne  |  October 1, 2009 at 2:46 am

    It’s fabulous to have a dedicated room! Have you seen that Quilting Arts is having a virtual studio tour? You should think about putting your new room on there with your great fabric on canvas art! Here’s a link: http://quiltingarts.com/blogs/in_the_studio_with_cate/archive/2009/09/28/join-our-open-studios-event-and-win.aspx

  • 4. wishes, true and kind  |  October 1, 2009 at 5:40 am

    LOL. My daughter is 20 and away at college, but one day she will REALLY move out. When she does I will first bawl like a baby, then dry my tears and start setting up my quilting studio :).

    What a sweet little doll quilt — and the leftover fabrics! So nice!

  • 5. Ann-Marie  |  October 6, 2009 at 8:25 am

    I love what you did with that DS fabric- love the wall art :)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

The South Bay Area Modern Quilt Guild

The Patchwork Prism Quilt Along

The Single Girl Support Group

Flickr Photos

Low volume cross block

Back of the Pantone Quilt

Feather Quilt is here!

Closeup of the Pantone Quilt - radiant orchid feathers.



For ModQimprovB February block

More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 142 other followers

Feeds

About Little Blue Cottage

A blog about quilts, quilting, and quilters, with stories of life, love, and fabrics thrown in.

My Pinterest Boards

Quilting Bloggers Logo

WIP Wednesday

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

