Thoughtful Spot

October 21, 2009 at 3:45 pm 8 comments

Here it is all tidy and ready for sewing. – my sewing room.  This picture was taken during one of our recent storms and so the light is a bit low, but I think you can see the space pretty well.

IMG_room10001The goal was to make the work area as efficient as possible.  I have the iron and board to the left for instant pressing.  I love that.  Each project has its own basket so that I don’t misplace anything.  Some baskets are simply fabrics that I think look great together, but are awaiting the right pattern or project. 

IMG_room20001Here’s a closeup of the sewing table.  On the left is a roatary mat and a basket with triangles and other cutting rulers. 

IMG_room30001This is my ‘design wall’ which is just a piece of batting.  I don’t love it here, and it’s pretty small, but it’s still reallly helpful.  These here are two quilts I’m working on, one is Hop, Skip & Jump quilt, and the other is my own design for a very dear friend. 

 

Below is the new cutting table which folds down.  I really like it! The basket holds all of my ‘bee business’ including postage, recently received blocks and things to mail out.  To the right…new fabrics.  Lately, I’ve really been drawn to Kaffe Fassett. 

IMG_room.bed0001And, if you ever come visit us, this is where you’ll sleep – the guest portion of the room, complete with quilt of course.

Entry filed under: blankets, cottage quilting bee, denyse schmidt, design, fabric, handmade, home, quilting, quilts, Stash, wip. Tags: .

Coincidence? Or, Divine Intervention… Geometry

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. KarrieLyne  |  October 21, 2009 at 6:59 pm

    I LOVE your room!! Especially the ironing station. I am constantly getting up to go iron my pieces. I tell myself that I get plenty of exercise that way while I sew..hee hee :) Fab room and amazing quilts!!

  • 2. wishes, true and kind  |  October 21, 2009 at 7:58 pm

    Just fabulous! I love the cutting table that folds down (great idea) and the ironing station so handy to the machine. I hope to someday have a quilting space of my own, and this one is just lovely — and so functional.

    joan

  • 3. arlijohn  |  October 22, 2009 at 7:34 am

    Very cute sewing room and so organized. My room isn’t organized because I’m alaways dragging everything out to look at it.

  • 4. Audrie  |  October 22, 2009 at 11:48 am

    Lovely space! I wish I was as neat and tidy as you are… my studio usually looks like a tornado visited :) I used to have my studio in the guest room too hehe

  • 5. highwaycottage  |  October 22, 2009 at 2:32 pm

    It’s always good to see other work spaces and get ideas on better storage. Love the quilt on the bed, it’s beautiful.

  • 6. Jackie  |  November 3, 2009 at 5:52 pm

    I really like your sewing space. I really enjoy having an ironing board right next to my dining room table where I sew. When I get a “room of my own”, I’m going to try and incorporate a iron off to the right and a spot for cutting off to the left.

    How do you stay so organized? I find sewing to be messy!

  • 7. rosewillow  |  November 4, 2009 at 4:00 am

    What a lovely workspace, and I love the tiny chairs, too! Very clever to use one as a shelf for your little plant. :)

  • 8. jaybird  |  November 5, 2009 at 3:23 pm

    you have a great space!! i love the wonky log cabin blocks on the wall

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

The South Bay Area Modern Quilt Guild

The Patchwork Prism Quilt Along

The Single Girl Support Group

Flickr Photos

@yespositively here's a heart for you!  Sorry it's a bit late, but it will be in the mail soon #stashbee #pixelatedheart











More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 143 other followers

Feeds

About Little Blue Cottage

A blog about quilts, quilting, and quilters, with stories of life, love, and fabrics thrown in.

My Pinterest Boards

Quilting Bloggers Logo

WIP Wednesday

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

