Geometry

October 28, 2009 at 10:43 pm 4 comments

IMG_circles0001I’ve always suffered at the hands of math.  I tried, I really did.  True confession; poor Mrs. Duffus had to have me twice in geometry because I didn’t pass it the first time.  But these circles are totally different for me.  They’re addicting is what they are.  The picture above is only the beginning because I’m bound and determined to made a quilt for my king size bed.  But the thought of piecing a quilt that large has been too daunting to me.  I’ll never finish it, I’d tell myself.  Then, the incomparable amandajean gave me a great idea somewhat based on this quilt. Isn’t that a great quilt? It’s so simple yet striking and bold. So I thought, “What if I started with an already sandwiched quilt? Wouldn’t that make the process go quickly?”

So, what I’m thinking is involving 108″ muslin and these circles. Stay tuned for more as this evolves.

In other developments, and aside from the circles quilt, I have no less than 5 quilts going. It’s a bit hectic, but it helps with keeping my brain somewhat fresh and entertained. The other geometry I’m working on…
IMG_duck10001

I’ve been so inspired lately by all the cool kids making some half square triangle quilts.  This is my favorite, by red pepper quilts.   Also, the girls are getting into my enthusiasm for the red, pink and aqua combination that seems to be everywhere right now.  So, a quilt was in order to go with this dresser that now lives in their room.  It’s going to be off the hook. 

So, I think all I need is about 5 days to myself and I could finish all these projects.  Yeah…like that’s going to happen.

Entry filed under: blankets, craft, design, fabric, home, homemade, kids, quilting, quilts, Stash, wip. Tags: .

Thoughtful Spot Cobblestones

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. arlijohn  |  October 29, 2009 at 11:16 am

    I like the red, pink, and aqua combo. Good idea!

  • 2. Cherri House  |  October 29, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    I’m loving the circles, and the triangle quilt you are working on…especially the red letter day fabric (lizzy’s my daughter!). Can’t wait to follow the progress on your king size quilt.

    Cherri

  • 3. adrienne  |  November 1, 2009 at 4:37 am

    The circles look great! I am excited to see how it turns out. The aqua, red and pink triangles look so cheery together. Your fabrics work so well together. =]

  • 4. Sew Katie Did  |  November 11, 2009 at 10:26 am

    The circles are great! I need to check out some of your swap stuff.

    I changed my blog from Willy-Nilly to Sew Katie Did, I’ll be changing all my links this week and get the bee people back up.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

The South Bay Area Modern Quilt Guild

The Patchwork Prism Quilt Along

The Single Girl Support Group

Flickr Photos

@yespositively here's a heart for you!  Sorry it's a bit late, but it will be in the mail soon #stashbee #pixelatedheart











More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 145 other followers

Feeds

About Little Blue Cottage

A blog about quilts, quilting, and quilters, with stories of life, love, and fabrics thrown in.

My Pinterest Boards

Quilting Bloggers Logo

WIP Wednesday

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

