A Big, Hopeful Quilt Along at The Little Blue Cottage

February 23, 2010 at 11:53 am 70 comments

Edited to add the winner of fat quarters is Ashley of Film in the Fridge!!  I’ll be contacting you!  Thanks everyone for entering and quilting along!

Here we go!  This is something I’ve been working on for a few weeks now and can finally announce.    I’ll be having a Hope Valley quilt along!

I contacted Denyse Schmidt about the possibility of this project before the fabrics were even available and she and her team have been most gracious and generous!  To get things started, join the Hope Valley Quilt Along Flickr group! In the next few days, I’ll be talking about  the quilt block we’ll be making. (Edited to add that I didn’t know that when creating a Flickr group that if you start out as a private group, then it is always private…if you are a member of flickr, add me as a contact littlbluecottage and I’ll send you an invite!)

But, to make things truly interesting and exciting, I’ll be kicking off the quilt along with a giveaway of some Hope Valley fabrics!  One lucky winner will receive a quarter yard of these…

Enter to win by leaving a comment and I’ll pick a winner on Saturday!

If you’d like to participate in the quilt along and want to get your fabrics, you’ll need (for a lap quilt) quarter yard cuts and (For larger quilts) no more than 1/2 yard cuts of prints and 1-3 coordinating solids.  Because this quilt is somewhat improvisational, it’s hard to give exact quantities for fabric.   I’m using  kona cottons in zucchini and O.D Green and a Kaffe Fasset shot cotton in Smoky.  Kona cotton in Sand is the background solid I chose for the block we’ll be doing and you’ll need 2 yard for a lap quilt and 3-4 for a larger quilt.  The actual prints and solids you choose do not have to match mine – these are just the ones that I happened to enjoy with the Hope Valley fabrics.  Other clues about what solids to pair with the prints can be found here.

So, start your engines rotary cutter and your sewing machines…we’ll be quilting soon.  And come back tomorrow for a special interview I had with Denyse about Hope Valley, color and everything quilty.

Hope Valley Button Medium


Originally uploaded by littlbluecottage

Entry filed under: craft, denyse schmidt, design, fabric, Flea Market Fancy, hope valley, quilt-along, quilting, quilts, Sewing. Tags: .

I Heart My Couch A Chat With Denyse Schmidt

70 Comments

  • 1. Jessica  |  February 23, 2010 at 12:43 pm

    What fun! I love the fabric combo you chose…

  • 2. sewshesews  |  February 23, 2010 at 12:48 pm

    Oh how fun! I just love this fabric line!

  • 3. John  |  February 23, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    Sounds like fun! Can’t wait to see what you have in store.

  • 4. Isa  |  February 23, 2010 at 12:50 pm

    This sounds like fun, and like a wonderful excuse for buying more of this lovely fabricline :-)

  • 5. Megan  |  February 23, 2010 at 12:52 pm

    How exciting Tina!

  • 6. tia  |  February 23, 2010 at 12:53 pm

    OK< Tina! You have tempted me! I have a bunch of the lovely Hope Valley sitting on my shelf and I would love and excuse to cut it up!!!!!! Muu hahahha

    I will play along with you!

  • 7. susan  |  February 23, 2010 at 12:57 pm

    eek!! i so want to play! i havent bought my hope valley yet(money has been tight :o/), but hope to soon! cant wait and thanks for doing this and the giveaway
    smooches

  • 8. Liz B  |  February 23, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    What fun! Can’t wait to see where the quilt along will take us! Thanks for the chance at winning.
    liz dot groleau at gmail dot com

  • 9. Anna F.  |  February 23, 2010 at 1:03 pm

    I have been meaning to get some of this fabric, but have yet to do so. Thanks for the giveaway and looking forward to a quilt along!

  • 10. lisa  |  February 23, 2010 at 1:06 pm

    oh my gosh!! this sounds like SO much fun!! you may have convinced me to buy some of this gorgeous line…..but i’ll wait and see if i won first hehehe thanks for sending me an invite on flickr!!!

  • 11. Karen  |  February 23, 2010 at 1:11 pm

    the fabrics you have chosen are stunning. Thank you so much for inviting me to join your Quilt along. I have only just started quilting so I am very touched that you like what I have done enough to join you. Karen x

  • 12. Megan  |  February 23, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    Cool! I haven’t cut into my hope valley yet! Thanks for the giveaway!

  • 13. Liz  |  February 23, 2010 at 1:19 pm

    Oh boy oh boy! I have some Hope Valley and just haven’t cut into it yet… here’s the perfect excuse! Hooray!

  • 14. Liz  |  February 23, 2010 at 1:20 pm

    Oh, and it looks like you may have made the group private? I clicked on the link and was not allowed to view the group. I’m “goddessinprogress” on Flickr if you wouldn’t mind inviting me.

  • 15. isabel f.  |  February 23, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    wow!! I would love to win some of those fabrics :)))

  • 16. sleepycathollow  |  February 23, 2010 at 1:52 pm

    I think I may have added you as a contact via Flickr…I’m Sleepy Cat Hollow.

    This sounds like fun!

  • 17. Jen  |  February 23, 2010 at 2:17 pm

    This is incredibly generous and a great was to start off a project… I’m notorious for starting projects without finishing another so I might try to catch up a little late :)

  • 18. Angela  |  February 23, 2010 at 2:17 pm

    What fun! Looks like the group is private at the moment. Can’t wait till you get it active!

  • 19. Tina  |  February 23, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    I love the fabric combinations. Sounds like a fun idea. I might just try to join in! It would be my first quilt along.

  • 20. Melanie  |  February 23, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    I’ve been waiting to find the prefect pattern to cut into my Hope Valley. I can’t wait to see the quilt-along and thanks for sponsoring such an awesome giveaway!

  • 21. Mendi  |  February 23, 2010 at 2:31 pm

    What a good excuse to break into my HV stash!!

  • 22. Leanne  |  February 23, 2010 at 2:41 pm

    How wonderful is this! I have my fingers crossed for that wonderful fabric …

  • 23. rachel  |  February 23, 2010 at 2:45 pm

    fun. fun. fun.
    can’t wait to see this quilt along unfold. :)

  • 24. adina  |  February 23, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    so curious about these fabrics. i haven’t gotten any yet.

  • 25. Linnea  |  February 23, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    Sounds like a lot of fun…I love seeing Denyse’s fabrics in use…what is that saying…the total is greater than the sum of its parts?! Can’t wait to see this quilt along progress

  • 26. sarah  |  February 23, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    ooh I have never done a quilt along it sounds like so much fun

  • 27. kate  |  February 23, 2010 at 4:38 pm

    fun stuff! can’t wait :)

  • 28. Diane  |  February 23, 2010 at 5:03 pm

    How Cool! I still have not been able to get my little mitts on any of that stuff, BUT! I’m hopeful! Thank You, can’t wait to see more…

  • 29. Debbie  |  February 23, 2010 at 5:25 pm

    I knew I had bought 2 sets of these FQ bundles for a reason….can’t wait to use one. Don’t you just love love love this fabric!

  • 30. KarrieLyne  |  February 23, 2010 at 6:18 pm

    oh man oh man oh man….another quilt along. I love these things. Do I have time for another? Of course I do :) Can’t wait to see what this brings and the fabrics are beautiful!

  • 31. Amy C  |  February 23, 2010 at 7:01 pm

    I absolutely love these fabrics. Pick me! Pick me!

  • 32. Amy  |  February 23, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    Those are beautiful fabrics! Thank you for the giveaway!

  • 33. Ellen Ban  |  February 23, 2010 at 7:38 pm

    Sounds like fun and a good way to get sewing instead of stashing!

  • 34. Barb  |  February 23, 2010 at 7:52 pm

    Wow, what a great idea! I’d love to make a Hope Valley Quilt…but I still haven’t got my hands on any. I can’t wait to see what you are making…

  • 35. Liberty  |  February 23, 2010 at 9:00 pm

    yay! I just finished a top and back of an entire quilt in yellow and grey – I’m loving this pallette.
    perhaps I’ll win! yay!

  • 36. april  |  February 23, 2010 at 9:14 pm

    This sounds fun. I would love to participate. I’ll have to get on it and order some of that beautiful fabric.

  • 37. Kristina  |  February 23, 2010 at 11:48 pm

    it would be lovely to win these beauties!

  • 38. amy  |  February 24, 2010 at 3:48 am

    Thank for the invite – Hope I win!

  • 39. sudi-laura  |  February 24, 2010 at 4:23 am

    My 1/2 yards of the entire collection have been sitting around just waiting for the perfect project! Thanks for putting this together!

  • 40. mugirl113  |  February 24, 2010 at 4:55 am

    Ohhh…I was just looking at a fat quarter bundle of Hope Valley over the weekend!! What a fabulous giveaway! And on my birthday too! Maybe it will be fate!! :-) Sounds like a great quilt-along.

  • 41. Kelley  |  February 24, 2010 at 5:55 am

    so pretty! gotta love Denise!!!!

  • 42. Valerie in CS  |  February 24, 2010 at 7:17 am

    Neat, neat! Hope Valley is such fun… Can’t wait to see more of the quilt-along details. *grin*

  • 43. theretiredmama  |  February 24, 2010 at 7:21 am

    Your fabric selection is wonderful. Thank-you for the opportunity to win some of it.

  • 44. A Chat With Denyse Schmidt « Little Blue Cottage  |  February 24, 2010 at 9:34 am

    [...] So, Saturday will be the last day to enter to win quarter yard cuts of some Hope Valley prints!  If you haven’t already entered…what are you waiting for?!  Go HERE. [...]

  • 45. Meg in CT  |  February 24, 2010 at 9:59 am

    This is so cool! I ordered my fabrics months ago, but apparently my retailer of choice is having issues on a few backordered bolts, meaning my FQ bundles have been held up! I’d love to join in once they arrive, or get started sooner if I won!

  • 46. Lisa M  |  February 24, 2010 at 10:28 am

    I can’t wait to start! Thanks so much for hosting this…going to email you next, to join the flickr group. What a great giveaway too!!

  • 47. Ashley  |  February 24, 2010 at 11:16 am

    sounds like fun! and it’s certainly starting out in a good way – with this very generous giveaway! can’t wait to see what the quilt will look like!

  • 48. Diane F  |  February 24, 2010 at 11:27 am

    I just added you as a flickr contact. I really can’t wait to play.. I will be playing along with some Amy Butlers!

  • 49. Debbie  |  February 24, 2010 at 12:22 pm

    Love this color range of the Hope Valley fabrics. I’m still waiting on my back-ordered fabric to arrive so I may be a little behind in the quilt along.

    Debbie
    clutterbat at yahoo dot com

  • 50. Jessica M.  |  February 24, 2010 at 1:29 pm

    Ooh, I can’t wait to see how this QAL turns out! I’ve been hesitant to cut into my Hope Valley because I don’t know what to do with it yet!! Off to add you as a contact!

  • 51. carolyn  |  February 24, 2010 at 1:42 pm

    This will be a lot of fun!!

  • 52. Katie Bowlby  |  February 25, 2010 at 6:27 am

    Thanks for the interview with Denyse! So cool. I love these fabrics.

  • 53. Beth Lehman  |  February 25, 2010 at 6:27 am

    WHATT??? So glad I looked at the Hope Valley Flickr pics today and found your button!! I’m so excited as I keep wondering what I will do with the Hope Valley I have. I want something fun – but I can’t decide or cut into it. Your colorway is different from mine. So excited to find your blog and now off to join the flickr group – if I can only remember my password!!

  • 54. Corey  |  February 25, 2010 at 6:52 am

    What a great quilt along and giveaway! Thanks so much!!

  • 55. Holly  |  February 25, 2010 at 7:03 am

    I’m so excited to see what blocks you choose to make! Thanks for the chance to enter! =)

  • 56. Gail Lopes  |  February 25, 2010 at 8:34 am

    Thanks so much for the give away. The fabrics are beautiful!
    Gail

  • 57. Beth Lehman  |  February 25, 2010 at 9:35 am

    i added you as a contact – but don’t really know how to contact you. i’m beth10 (so boring).

  • 58. paula  |  February 25, 2010 at 11:25 am

    Sounds exciting and I have 1/2 yd cuts in the pink and grey pallettes ! Would love a chance to win some more ! I just joined your Flikr group and am looking forward to seeing what pattern you’ve chosen. Thanks for a chance to win!

  • 59. MegVS  |  February 25, 2010 at 11:26 am

    Ooohhh…fun! I can’t wait to see what the blocks look like!

  • 60. Lauren  |  February 25, 2010 at 6:02 pm

    Ohhhh! I love this fabric! Please include my name in the giveaway! Thanks! Can’t wait to see what you have in store for the quiltalong [although, honestly, I just can’t start anything new until I get a few WIP completed)!

  • 61. Lauren  |  February 25, 2010 at 6:03 pm

    I love this fabric! Thanks for hosting this giveaway, and please include my name! Thanks! Can’t wait to see what you have in store for the quiltalong [although, honestly, I just can’t start anything new until I get a few WIP completed)!

  • 62. patty  |  February 26, 2010 at 6:46 am

    The fabrics are great! I would love to add them to my stash!

  • 63. Lesly  |  February 26, 2010 at 7:26 am

    Love these fabrics soooooo much!

  • 64. Rebecca Maples  |  February 26, 2010 at 11:22 am

    I would love to win, and I would also love to be involved in the quilt-a-long. You are already a contact on flickr (I’m rebeccasrags), if you could send me an invite. Thanks!

  • 65. kelly  |  February 26, 2010 at 12:20 pm

    I had decide not to be such a “joiner” for a while… but I think I won’t be able to resist this one. :) SO exciting! :)

  • 66. giselle  |  February 26, 2010 at 7:52 pm

    love hope valley… i have a feeling bits and pieces will show up in many future projects

  • 67. Maggie  |  February 26, 2010 at 9:03 pm

    Very pretty fabric line! Hope Valley (south of Lake Tahoe, CA) is one of our favorite places to go camping, so of course I have to join! I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed til Saturday! Thanks

  • 68. Bessiemae  |  February 26, 2010 at 10:59 pm

    Loved your interview, and I hope I win!

  • 69. Kim  |  February 27, 2010 at 8:19 am

    Oh fun! Just added you as a contact on flickr. I just got my box of Hope Valley and I love it! Can’t decide what to do with it besides just stare at it! : ) I was also lucky enough to get into Denyse’s class in Sisters, OR and I CANNOT wait! Looking forward to the quilt-along!

  • 70. Paula  |  February 28, 2010 at 9:18 am

    Great fabrics! Please count me in, thanks!
    ap_lemos at yahoo dot com

Trackback this post


The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

The South Bay Area Modern Quilt Guild

The Patchwork Prism Quilt Along

The Single Girl Support Group

Flickr Photos

@yespositively here's a heart for you!  Sorry it's a bit late, but it will be in the mail soon #stashbee #pixelatedheart











More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 143 other followers

Feeds

About Little Blue Cottage

A blog about quilts, quilting, and quilters, with stories of life, love, and fabrics thrown in.

My Pinterest Boards

Quilting Bloggers Logo

WIP Wednesday

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

