Miss Leona’s Very Happy Chair & A Very HappyFabric Giveaway Too…

August 21, 2010 at 9:27 pm 24 comments

I want to introduce you all to my incredibly talented friend Leona.  When we lived in southern California, Leona and her lovely family lived next door to us.  Our driveways were smack dab next to each other and so we were often outside together talking about our gardens, babies, what house project was coming up next, and how to cope with the heat.  Leona and her husband Tom were the kind of next door neighbors you always hope for.  We moved back to my hometown of Santa Cruz almost 5 years ago and miss them all terribly but we keep up with pictures, facebook and now Leona and I are bonding over one more thing.  FABRIC.

Leona has illustrated books and educational materials, paints murals among other things.  She blogs here at The Very Happy Chair about her creative life.  She restores and breathes life into chairs and furniture.  She has a beautiful eye for color and detail.   The other day, she posted this darling illustration of owls on facebook.  I just about jumped up and squealed.  We started madly emailing about designing a collection of fabric around these sweet owls.  She got right on that and has a few prints available now through spoonflower.

So, because I want everyone to love her fabric – I’m hosting a giveaway!  Leave a comment here saying what you like about the fabric and you’ll be entered to win a fat quarter of one of her fabrics of your choice!  And to sweeten the deal, if you blog about my giveaway, you’ll be entered to win twice.   You can enter until the end of Friday the 27th.  Whatcha waitin’ for?

Entry filed under: blog love, color, design, etsy, fabric, kids, quilting, Sewing, spoonflower, Stash. Tags: , .

Wordless Wednesday The Longarm of the Law – I Mean Quilt.

24 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Penny  |  August 22, 2010 at 2:47 am

    I LOVE those little cheery faces!! It woud look great with the Spnflr1A that she also has available.

  • 2. Ginger  |  August 22, 2010 at 6:07 am

    These little owls are so cute. I love the whole thing, but my favorite part is the little heart on the owl. so cute! Going to blog about this giveaway now!

  • 3. Debbie  |  August 22, 2010 at 7:14 am

    What’s not to love about smiling owls with hearts on their chests? :)

  • 4. DianeY  |  August 22, 2010 at 9:43 am

    Besides the color, which I love, I loke that these little owls are feminine-love the eyes & the little twigs they are standing on!

  • 5. Alisa  |  August 22, 2010 at 9:56 am

    I love the colors in the mulitdot fabric. The owls are darling as well.

  • 6. Michelle  |  August 22, 2010 at 11:58 am

    I love the sleepy smile the owl has on it’s face.

  • 7. JillyK  |  August 22, 2010 at 12:46 pm

    I see a great quilt coming out of that fabric and I look forward to viewing other fabrics. Keep up the good work.

  • 8. Liz B  |  August 22, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    I just love the look on the little owl’s face! She looks so happy to be there on that fabric!
    Thanks for the chance at the giveaway :)

  • 9. MichelleB  |  August 22, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    They are so cute. I love their sweet faces – they are such happy little owls.

  • 10. Linn  |  August 22, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    I love the eyelashes. so sweet. Her fabric as a real tough of whimsy. Thanks for the giveaway.

  • 11. kelly jo  |  August 23, 2010 at 1:49 am

    Very cute fabric! There is nothing like a good neighbor!

  • 12. hermione j. schwartz  |  August 23, 2010 at 2:25 am

    Well, the whole of the fabric is super cute, but I like the content little faces, the heart on their chests and how the ear tufts curl up like a smile. =]

  • 13. Sharrieboberry  |  August 23, 2010 at 9:34 am

    I love green and orange together! But I really like the eyelashes! How sweet is that on those happy faces.

  • 14. Marcia W.  |  August 24, 2010 at 11:22 am

    Adorable happy owls in any colors (yet especially the orange owls on green) tickle me! This pattern is unique because of the hearts, eyelashes, and details of the horns, beak nose, and wings. The horn tufts remind me of a princess crown. mlwright29 (at) hotmail (dot) com Thank you for this giveaway.

  • 15. lilyeden  |  August 26, 2010 at 9:36 am

    I love those owls!

  • 16. Patty  |  August 26, 2010 at 1:56 pm

    This fabric is so cute an whimsical! I love the little owl faces.

  • 17. Heidi  |  August 27, 2010 at 8:49 am

    I love the whimsical patterns and colors!
    The owls are so adorable, and the coordinating prints in her gallery are wonderful!

  • 18. Terrie  |  August 27, 2010 at 9:24 am

    Hope that I am not too late !!!!! LOVE love love that fabric !!!!

  • 19. littlebluecottage  |  August 30, 2010 at 8:39 pm

    Ms. Random Integer generator has selected lucky #13 as the winner!Sherrieboberrie – I’ll be emailing you shortly! Thanks to all who entered.

    Tina

  • 20. Sew Katie Did  |  September 2, 2010 at 6:31 am

    Too cute! Off to check them out…because you know I need more fabric!

  • 21. Two Accordions  |  September 10, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    So glad we found this site! Love everything here! So lovely! Wish we found it sooner.=)

  • 22. Alison  |  September 19, 2010 at 7:03 am

    This is so fun and fresh. I just have to have some!!!! Perfect for the little ones!!

  • 23. Linda Urban  |  September 21, 2010 at 12:30 am

    Those are the happiest owls I have ever seen.

  • 24. Brandie Lippott  |  September 21, 2010 at 6:32 pm

    I love the cute lil owls. I just am so obsessed with owls lately…….SOOOOO CUTE!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

The South Bay Area Modern Quilt Guild

The Patchwork Prism Quilt Along

The Single Girl Support Group

Flickr Photos

@yespositively here's a heart for you!  Sorry it's a bit late, but it will be in the mail soon #stashbee #pixelatedheart











More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 143 other followers

Feeds

About Little Blue Cottage

A blog about quilts, quilting, and quilters, with stories of life, love, and fabrics thrown in.

My Pinterest Boards

Quilting Bloggers Logo

WIP Wednesday

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

