Kaffe Fassett Snowball Quilt Workshop – A Study in Color

December 12, 2010 at 8:37 pm 7 comments

I was lucky enough to attend a workshop recently with Kaffe Fassett and his fabric designing, patchwork creator and partner Brandon Mably.  I was happy and anxious to take this workshop for many reasons, mostly because it really was a bucket list thing for me to take a workshop from the master of color himself.  Luckily enough, the people at my job and my family were encouraging of me to take a day for myself and to travel to Lafayette, CA to spend learning about snowball quilts and tackling the all important element of color.

I have to start by saying that I learned so much.  And, what I learned was completely everything I didn’t expect to learn.  Let me back up.  During the day at the shop, I help people all day long with their selections of fabric with particular attention to how several fabrics may look together.  So, I really thought I had my act together with the fabrics I had brought.  In fact, I had chosen and re-chosen many different sets of fabrics with my ‘final answer’ fabrics chosen only the night before.  Immediately, Kaffe came over to my tidy basket of cut squares and said, “These are lovely fabrics, but not for this workshop.”  I wilted and my stomach tightened all at once.  Thank goodness they had heaps and heaps of fabrics there on hand.  I walked over to the lot and started choosing anything with pink, yellow and orange in it with little thought to much else.  At that moment my education in color started.  The message he gave me was, “Work quickly, an artist has much to do.  Don’t overthink anything too much.”  And from Brandon Mably, who kept offering me other fabrics that I didn’t like, “I’m looking for a reaction, not a reason why you don’t like it.”  I started to think differently – or, rather, to turn off the thinker and to get in touch with something visceral, something instinctive.  Let the color do the talking.

For the rest of the day, my two teachers were calling out to me from across the room and referring to me as “Mrs. Yellow”  and I loved them!  I especially developed a small crush on Brandon, who whispered a few naughty things to me as he pointed to the pair of peaches in one of my snowball blocks.  I’ll let you all wonder about that!  I cut fabric with abandon, spent too much money on fabric I didn’t necessarily need (or would have chosen on my own before the workshop) and I loved every minute of it.

Here he is, critiquing my work.  He called it ‘joyful’.  What a lucky girl I am to have gone to this workshop!

Entry filed under: Brandon Mably, color, craft, design, fabric, handmade, home, Kaffe Fassett, quilting, quilts, Sewing, Snowball Quilt, Stash, Workshop. Tags: , , , , .

The Longarm of the Law – I Mean Quilt. Sewing In The New Year

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. susy  |  December 13, 2010 at 8:53 am

    Wow! Looks right out of Kaffee’s book. I love the colors and that you could open up to seeing things in an entirely different way for the workshop. Courageous and inspirational! Thanks for sharing and focusing on the positive.

  • 2. Cherie  |  December 18, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    Thanks for sharing what you learned. I could do with less thinking and more feeling in my sewing too!

  • 3. wishes, true and kind  |  December 19, 2010 at 6:52 am

    Oh, lucky you! I’ve always wanted to take a workshop from Kaffe and Brandon! Your quilt top is beautiful!

  • 4. Thirza  |  January 1, 2011 at 5:15 am

    That must have been so daunting, having your choices scrutinised by KF! I would have broken down in tears!!! Love you quilt top, love the colours (now, is that a compliment, or what!?)

  • 5. Paisley and Lace  |  January 3, 2011 at 5:51 pm

    I like this, Tina. I hope I will get to see the finished product!

  • 6. Joanna  |  January 9, 2011 at 6:26 am

    Wow! They were really teaching and not just doing it for you. I think I’ll add this type of workshop to my bucket list.

  • 7. isoreottcig  |  October 21, 2012 at 11:06 am

    Всем, хай.
    Узнала о Вашем форуме от человека, который тут сидит, он сказал, что тут хорошие люди.
    Я мастерица рукодельница. Делаю украшения ручной работы. Может Вам или Вашей подружке, нужен реально именной и эксклюзивный подарок?
    Я могу сделать абсолютно любые брюльки. Особенно сейчас модны у девушек каффы. Вы можете купить напрямую у меня – это будет намного дешевле чем в именном магазине.
    И еще я сама делаю монтаж своих украшений на видео, поэтому не думайте, что они будут от этого дороже, вот можете взглянуть: кафф
    Жду Вас у себя в группе.

    P.S. Админ просьба оставить мою мессагу или перенести в нужный раздел, если я ошиблась с местом. Мы уже настолько наелись этой монополизацией и глобализацией, маркетами, что руки опускаются, где одни наживаются за счет других не в меру своих способностей и не дают шанса заработать тем, кто сам работает.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

The South Bay Area Modern Quilt Guild

The Patchwork Prism Quilt Along

The Single Girl Support Group

Flickr Photos

@yespositively here's a heart for you!  Sorry it's a bit late, but it will be in the mail soon #stashbee #pixelatedheart











More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 143 other followers

Feeds

About Little Blue Cottage

A blog about quilts, quilting, and quilters, with stories of life, love, and fabrics thrown in.

My Pinterest Boards

Quilting Bloggers Logo

WIP Wednesday

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

