A Chair is Nice

June 6, 2011 at 4:44 pm 3 comments

The other day, I took a good hard look at my living room.  I looked at what I liked and what might need some help.  My reading chair really needed help.  As usual, when presented with an idea or opportunity to start a project, I did so and straight away.  So, in my usual haste, I do not have a “before” picture here.  Let’s just say that it would be pushing the limit to say that the covers on these cushions were shabby chic.  Maybe they were shabby, not so much chic.  Anyway, this is what can happen when kids are in bed early and you have a few movies sitting around waiting to be played.

So I had a fresh chair just like that and I liked it.  I had that back pillow from Pottery Barn from a few years ago.  It’s a wood-block print from India.  The little pillow is a lovely Kaffe Fassett shot cotton with a wide strip of an Amy Butler print.  The bottom is a large-scale Anna Maria Horner print from her Innocent Crush fabric line.  They all play well together I think.

Then the inevitable happened.  The bright and new cushions made the rest of the room look sad and neglected.  “A quilt for the couch and some throw pillows” was my very next thought.  Never mind my idea of not starting any new projects until the old ones are done.  I started thinking of my color palette and what would look nice in this room.  I looked around the room and looked at this:

And this:

This:

And these:

I thought about the colors; pale aqua, ruby, even bits of pink, garnet, pale grass greens.  I started pulling fabrics and made many, many half square triangles.  They look like this:

With any luck the cushion and the future quilt here will live on my couch very soon.

 

Entry filed under: quilting. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Sew Mama Sew Giveaway – My New Pattern + Lots of Fabric! Half Square Triangles & Stuff to Mention

3 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

The South Bay Area Modern Quilt Guild

The Patchwork Prism Quilt Along

The Single Girl Support Group

Flickr Photos

Low volume cross block

Back of the Pantone Quilt

Feather Quilt is here!

Closeup of the Pantone Quilt - radiant orchid feathers.



For ModQimprovB February block

More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 142 other followers

Feeds

About Little Blue Cottage

A blog about quilts, quilting, and quilters, with stories of life, love, and fabrics thrown in.

My Pinterest Boards

Quilting Bloggers Logo

WIP Wednesday

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

