Half Square Triangles & Stuff to Mention

September 12, 2011 at 6:53 am 6 comments

Hello there…anyone still out there visiting me?  I’m so grateful that you do check in on me.  Lots of goings on in my sewing room here this summer and so I’ll have lots of posts in the near future.  First, I did finish my half square triangle quilt for my living room and it’s new color palette.

Here’s the flimsy, all ready for quilting.  I need thoughts on how to quilt this.   Normally, I’d just be very happy with an all over stippling or loops, but this one wants something a bit more orderly.  Hmmm…feedback please.


The precision of getting the seams nested together rewards you with nicely lined up triangles.  Just when I think that I don’t need anything to be balanced and precise, and that improvisational piecing is the thing that I love the most, I fall in love with all the nice clean lines here.   I do apologize for the less than stellar pictures.   Here in Northern California, we have had the foggiest summer I can ever remember and I waited and waited to take this picture and a bright, sunny day never came.

Some of my favorites from Anna Maria Horner appear here, along with a little Cake Rock Beach, Alexander Henry, Parisville from that fab girl Tula, a Japanese print with an apple…

and do you see right here…below the apple?  Yep, it’s something that doesn’t often come up in contemporary quilting.  It’s a Civil War Reprint.   I absolutely love it for the color and the little squiggly lines.  I think it looks right at home here with the other prints on this quilt.

Other Exciting News!

I joined a virtual quilting bee with some fabulous peeps!  This quilting bee is unique in that we’re only using two colors; orange and aqua.  Accordingly, it’s called  To Bee Orange & AquaI was happy to make some blocks for my quilting pal IRL Beth who is an incredibly talented quilter.  She used to come visit me at Hart’s when she lived here, but now she lives away and I can’t chat with her about fabric or her fab tattoo.   With the fabrics she sent, and requesting maverick stars, I made these…

Gotta love that grumpy owl!

I have more to share, but I think I am going to save it for tomorrow.  School has started and the early morning routine means no more sewing until 1 a.m. like I did all summer. ;)  Speaking of the kids being back in school… the always lovely Katy wrote this bit about that very topic and I think she speaks what many feel, but don’t say aloud.  I appreciate these kind and honest words about needing one’s own quiet space and time for creativity as moms.  (Or mums in her case…thank goodness I speak U.K.)

Now…off to bed.

 


Entry filed under: quilting. Tags: , , , , , .

A Chair is Nice Local Modern Quilt Guild

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stephanie  |  September 12, 2011 at 7:34 am

    That’s a lovely quilt top. I’m a big fan of quilting a quarter inch to either side of the seam lines. Rita did a super job of it here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/redpepperquilts/5507444552/in/photostream/

    It looks like she did the quarter inch to each side of the diagonal lines and also to each side of the horizontal seams. It’s such a nice, clean look. I’m sure whatever you choose will be great. Good luck!

  • 2. Stephanie  |  September 12, 2011 at 7:36 am

    Here’s another creative design from the same quilter: http://www.flickr.com/photos/redpepperquilts/5162456646/in/set-72157607481499797

  • 3. Carole  |  September 12, 2011 at 7:43 am

    Hi,
    I have been enjoying reading your blog and seeing all of your great projects. A couple of thoughts regarding the half square triangles (one of which I just read above) was to do outline quilting as Stephanie mentioned. A friend did a similar quilt and did stitch in the ditch on the triangles. I recently made Cherry House’s City Play quilt and am having random sized circles done on it as I wanted to vary the squares and introduce another shape, however, with the triangles you may want to emphasize them rather than have something new added.

  • 4. mosaicthinking  |  September 12, 2011 at 1:10 pm

    Love that half square triangle quilt. I’m planning to make one in shades of red, one day. My suggestions for quilting would be stitch in the ditch on the diagonals or parallel to the diagonals. Look forward to seeing the picture when you’ve completed that step.

  • 5. Anne Sullivan  |  September 12, 2011 at 10:40 pm

    My first thought was to do the parallel to the diagonals (not a huge fan of stitch in the ditch. with all that sewing, it should show! I know, it’s all a personal preference). Anyway, I also really like the second link Stephanie posted with the horizontal/vertical lines instead of diagonal. It gives it a very different feel.

    After the advice you gave me tonight, I’m not even going to suggest echo stitching. You’re welcome. :D

  • 6. sewing room ideas | Interiors idea  |  December 7, 2011 at 8:01 pm

    [...] Little Blue Cottage .broken_link, a.broken_link { text-decoration: line-through; } .editComment, .editableComment, .textComment{ display: inline; } .comment-childs{ border: 1px solid #999; margin: 5px 2px 2px 4px; padding: 4px 2px 2px 4px; background-color: white; } .chalt{ background-color: #E2E2E2; } #newcomment{ border:1px dashed #777;width:90%; } #newcommentsubmit{ color:red; } .adminreplycomment{ border:1px dashed #777; width:99%; margin:4px; padding:4px; } .mvccls{ color: #999; } [...]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

The South Bay Area Modern Quilt Guild

The Patchwork Prism Quilt Along

The Single Girl Support Group

Flickr Photos

@yespositively here's a heart for you!  Sorry it's a bit late, but it will be in the mail soon #stashbee #pixelatedheart











More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 145 other followers

Feeds

About Little Blue Cottage

A blog about quilts, quilting, and quilters, with stories of life, love, and fabrics thrown in.

My Pinterest Boards

Quilting Bloggers Logo

WIP Wednesday

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

