Local Modern Quilt Guild

September 14, 2011 at 3:36 pm 1 comment

Not one to keep secrets very long, there it is.  My news!  I’ve started a local chapter of the Modern Quilt Guild.  I’m so excited!  I have been inspired by Alissa who along with Latifah started the Modern Quilt Guild in Los Angeles in 2009.   Alissa’s blog was one of the first I discovered ever since I started quilt blog stalking back in 2008.  Local guilds started popping up everywhere and I longed for one locally.  I did visit the closest one to me, but after a long day of work, I really just wanted to cocoon at home with my kids and my fabric.

We held our first meeting earlier this month and 12 people came and showed great enthusiasm.  It was exciting to talk about what we might do in the way of quilting together, sharing ideas, shop hops and group challenges.  Here are a few pictures from that night.

This incredible quilt is made by Carolyn, on the right, made from Amy Butler’s pattern and fabrics.  Completely paper-pieced, my hat is off to her for sure.

This is  Adrianne’s fresh and bold plus quilt.  This would look good in my girls’ room.  You know,  just in case you’ve run out of storage space.  ;-)

Here is Dana’s Single Girl Quilt.  Oh be still my heart!  Putting Joel Dewberry Trees in the middle is  a stroke of brilliance.  What you can’t see is the incredible hand quilting she’s doing.  I continue to love the combination of mustard and greys.  This is really more incredible in person.  Dana wants you to know that the kona background color is MeringueKaren made this quilt as a gift for a couple who are getting married.  I wish you could see her piecing and the obvious care she took in making this beauty.   What an heirloom!

We will be meeting at the very fun and vibrant SueDee’s shop in Scotts Valley.    If you are in our area and are interested in the Modern Quilt Guild even a tiny bit, please join us for a meeting.  There is much silliness and  inspiration to be had here.  You can visit our facebook page here.

 

Entry filed under: quilting. Tags: , , , , .

Half Square Triangles & Stuff to Mention Two Fat Quarters & Some Scraps

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Thirza  |  September 15, 2011 at 2:23 am

    You go girl! It looks amazing!

    I wish I lived closer… Euhm, I wish I was still into quilting ;-)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

The South Bay Area Modern Quilt Guild

The Patchwork Prism Quilt Along

The Single Girl Support Group

Flickr Photos

@yespositively here's a heart for you!  Sorry it's a bit late, but it will be in the mail soon #stashbee #pixelatedheart











More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 143 other followers

Feeds

About Little Blue Cottage

A blog about quilts, quilting, and quilters, with stories of life, love, and fabrics thrown in.

My Pinterest Boards

Quilting Bloggers Logo

WIP Wednesday

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

