The Giant Innocent Crush Quilt (With a Little Loulouthi Thrown In Too)

November 15, 2011 at 3:58 pm 4 comments

Seriously people, it’s big.  I’m not even sure you can call it a quilt since it’s more like a bed spread.  (And what is the actual difference?)

At 100h x 188w, she’s the biggest quilt I’ve made by far and I knew going in that  this puppy would not be quilted by me.  I enlisted the help of the very friendly and talented Karen, of Karen’s Quilted Creations to stitch these delicious loopy-loops.  I really want to give props to Karen for her professionalism, courteous and prompt emails, and for her obvious care that went into the quilting.  She listened to my preferences and finished in a short amount of time, which is no easy feat given how big this project was.  Thank you Karen,  you will be helping me more in the future I’m sure.

Here you can see the quilting on the back.  I used Kona Muslin,  118″ wide in natural.    It has a high thread count and the feel reminds me of Art Gallery Fabrics.  I know. Soo soft!

This quilt is the simplest of designs so I figured we’d better have some good pillow action.  My friend Jo who is sassy and awesome, made the Amy Butler Midwest Mod pillow to sit here on my bed.  It features the same Innocent Crush print in both cotton and velveteen.

See those petals?  I just love it.    And little Isabel and I did some serious stitching with perle cotton on the Loulouthi pillow.

I’m not even kidding.  Isabel did the blue stitches you see here and other bits on this guy.  I was so excited to see her, hoop in hand and being incredibly precise and careful.  Until this was finished, she asked to stitch every day.

Lots of stitching.

Free-form hand quilting on the white part.

I believe I will be making more pillows because you really can’t have too many pillows on your bed.   I think rectangle is next.

Ok….you gotta see this…

I can barely handle the cuteness. ;)

 

Entry filed under: quilting. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Two Fat Quarters & Some Scraps Stitching with Loulouthi Needleworks

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katy  |  November 16, 2011 at 10:50 am

    oh hell – that is amazing! I love the huge huge huge quilt and the pillow is adorable (even more so because of isabel!)

  • 2. susyd9  |  November 17, 2011 at 7:09 am

    Absolutely fabulous! And the pillows are to die for. BTW your daughter is adorable. Hope you share with Anna Marie!

    I’m waiting for you to post your improv quilt with the Liberty squares. (hint, hint)

  • 3. Thirza  |  November 19, 2011 at 12:37 am

    Oh Tina, how sumptuous is this quilt?! I love the fabrics, AMH rocks! And you know who else? That little one stitching away with you!

  • 4. Khalilah Tonkin  |  March 12, 2012 at 10:34 am

    Only wanna remark on few general things, The website design and style is perfect, the subject matter is very superb : D.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

The South Bay Area Modern Quilt Guild

The Patchwork Prism Quilt Along

The Single Girl Support Group

Flickr Photos

@yespositively here's a heart for you!  Sorry it's a bit late, but it will be in the mail soon #stashbee #pixelatedheart











More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 143 other followers

Feeds

About Little Blue Cottage

A blog about quilts, quilting, and quilters, with stories of life, love, and fabrics thrown in.

My Pinterest Boards

Quilting Bloggers Logo

WIP Wednesday

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

