Michael Miller Cotton Couture Solids

February 16, 2012 at 8:38 pm 4 comments

It’s a good day for quilters.  A new line of solids feels somewhat like when you were a kid and you got a big box of new crayons.  You know, the one with the sharpener in the back.  You opened up the box and saw all the possibilities along with the rainbow of color.  That’s how I felt today opening up the cutest color card imaginable.

I needed a yard of a deep blue or indigo for a quilt binding and was expecting to choose a lovely Kona cotton.  But lo and behold the Cotton Couture solids had arrived at Hart’s and I had to check them out.  My girl Dana pulled down a few colors I wanted to look at.  What struck me at first was the tone of the color range.  By comparison with other solids, the colors are softer, as though they are the solid versions of shot cottons.  Rich, but not dark or heavy.  I think these solids will play nicely with the harder to co-ordinate prints.  I’m thinking of Japanese fabrics, which seem to have a palette all their own and fabric designers who use more jewel-like colors.  I especially liked the neutrals, including several wonderful greys and taupes and off-whites which are so important to modern quilters.   I noticed distinct colors that I feel are missing in other solid lines.  HOORAY!

What cannot be underscored enough is the feel and drape of these fabrics.  Made with long staple cotton, these solids are soft and luxurious feeling.  I wouldn’t think twice about making a pillowcase or clothing with them.  Of course, they will do very nicely in quilts.  They feel lighter in weight than Kona cotton, which I quite like.

Though more expensive than Kona cottons, in my estimation, I’ll be using these solids a lot in the future.  Well done Michael Miller!

 

Entry filed under: quilting. Tags: , , , , , .

Sunny Corner in Late Afternoon Busy Little Hands

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anne Sullivan  |  February 16, 2012 at 8:58 pm

    I love them SO much!!! I didn’t realize you could buy the cards from Hart’s. I will have to go pick one up. Maybe tomorrow when I go check out the Parson’s Grey they got in!

  • 2. Paisley and Lace  |  February 16, 2012 at 11:40 pm

    Thanks, Tina! Great info. I’ll be checking it out soon as I’m looking for a particular color that was not in Kona. And I agree with Anne. It would be amazing to have a color card:)

  • 3. Karen  |  February 17, 2012 at 5:29 pm

    I’m only in the beginning stages of collecting solids so this is good news!

  • 4. JillyK  |  February 18, 2012 at 9:57 am

    This line looks wonderful. The colors are a treat to the eye.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

The South Bay Area Modern Quilt Guild

The Patchwork Prism Quilt Along

The Single Girl Support Group

Flickr Photos

@yespositively here's a heart for you!  Sorry it's a bit late, but it will be in the mail soon #stashbee #pixelatedheart











More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 143 other followers

Feeds

About Little Blue Cottage

A blog about quilts, quilting, and quilters, with stories of life, love, and fabrics thrown in.

My Pinterest Boards

Quilting Bloggers Logo

WIP Wednesday

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

