Patchwork Prism Progress

May 13, 2012 at 11:20 pm 5 comments

Progress has been made and all pieces of the Patchwork Prism Quilt have been laid out on my design wall.  Mapping out the triangles and adjusting the color gradation was a fun exercise.  I have to say, this part took a lot longer than I thought it would.  Thoroughly enjoyable though, playing with all that beautiful color and print made me very happy.  I kept cutting into fabrics that I have long stared at and dared not cut into, and I am so glad I have.  I am really understanding that the best way to enjoy my fabric, is to play and experiment and to sew them up into something.  All of these prints look so beautiful together, all + 35 of them!  I started collecting Anna Maria Horner’s fabric around the time that her Good Folks collection came out.  I am drawn to her color palette with every print she designs.

I love the middle of this quilt and how it starts with the darkest prints I could find, and then it changes into ruby reds and plum, changing again to sparkling pinks and sorbet colors,melting into sunny orangey yellows which sit next to slightly more greenish yellows, and finally changing once more into soft greens and blues with go to dark at the edges, disappearing into an inky midnight blue.

A close-up of the center prism.

Gradually going from red to yellow to green to blue.

My design consultant was nearby for input and layout assistance.

Remember…the quilt along is happening right over here.

Entry filed under: quilting. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Long Story Short – I Started Another Quilt… Oh Hello There! I’ve Missed You!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carrie P.  |  May 14, 2012 at 6:01 am

    Looks great! I have the info to start this quilt but it looks like I am going to be behind.

  • 2. truecolorblog  |  May 14, 2012 at 6:03 am

    Wow, this looks amazing! And yes, I have a little design assistant too. He mostly UN-designs things. =)

  • 3. Ali M  |  May 14, 2012 at 11:01 am

    Thats fabulous! I’m trying not to feel bad about how mine looks in comparison to some of you more talented people out there, I’m really impressed with your color transitions, can’t wait to see the finished product!

  • 4. mermaidsweets  |  May 22, 2012 at 12:24 pm

    This is just amazing Tina, I love it.

  • 5. Dede Warren  |  June 20, 2012 at 6:31 am

    I found the top picture from this post somewhere online, Anna Maria Horners site perhaps. Anyways, it has been etched into my mind and I am so glad I found your site this morning. I ADORE the colors, fabrics, and the way you’ve laid them out! Because of seeing the photo of the cut triangles, I have bought several fabrics, to start my own quilt like yours. I cut my pieces into squares, not having quilted in a few years… and for the past 3 days I’ve starred at the pieces. I completely get that this is going to take loads of time to get just right.
    I just thought you should know, you have completely inspired me!
    Thanks for that!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

The South Bay Area Modern Quilt Guild

The Patchwork Prism Quilt Along

The Single Girl Support Group

Flickr Photos

@yespositively here's a heart for you!  Sorry it's a bit late, but it will be in the mail soon #stashbee #pixelatedheart











More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 143 other followers

Feeds

About Little Blue Cottage

A blog about quilts, quilting, and quilters, with stories of life, love, and fabrics thrown in.

My Pinterest Boards

Quilting Bloggers Logo

WIP Wednesday

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

