Quilt As You Go Weekender

April 9, 2013 at 10:40 am 4 comments

weekenderfull

A few months ago, a new spin on the Weekender Bag pattern by Amy Butler was started by Elizabeth from Oh Fransson.  This pattern has been sitting in my “To-Do” list of projects for at least a year, but somehow working up the nerve to do it hadn’t come yet.  I couldn’t choose a fabric that would be worthy of such a sewing milestone.  Should it be home dec?  A heavy Japanese canvas or linen/cotton?  I just let it go to the “undecided” part of my sewing brain and waited for inspiration to strike.  The quilt as you go Weekender revolution was just the nudge I needed!

With this approach to making the panels and pockets of the bag, you eliminate the need for the interfacing, and utilizing canvas and batting as a base, and then piecing your fabric treasures on top of them.  (This method is described in great detail on Elizabeth’s blog in the weekender post, as well as this post on making panels for bags.)  I started with one of the pockets and was immediately hooked!

sideviewweekenderThe biggest help in assembling and stitching together the large panels to the top/side panel, is to hand baste them before bringing them to the sewing machine.  I attempted sewing them together without basting and I will admit to much cursing and walking away in frustration.  A friend who had made a Weekender before suggested basting large stitches, about 2″ long, and it worked like a charm.

weekender pocketMy bag is lined with my favorite text print from Sweetwater’s “Mama Said Sew” fabric line.

I will make this bag again with this method – it’s already come with me on a couple of trips and it gets a lot of attention.  Go ahead!  You can do it!

 

 

Entry filed under: quilting. Tags: , , , , .

Oh Hello There! I’ve Missed You! Blue String Quilt and it Only Took Forever

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kati R.  |  April 9, 2013 at 4:02 pm

    Oh, my goodness! You might’ve just opened my eyes! I have everything that’s needed for the weekender bag, but the braveness to start :))) I might have to try out your method. To be honest I’m afraid to start after hearing so many frustration when it comes to this bag, but I think that comes from the hard stabilizer… Thank you for sharing, your bag is beautiful, no wonder why it’s getting compliments out there!

  • 2. ohlookachicken  |  April 9, 2013 at 4:44 pm

    You really can do it with this method!! The scrappiness is so fun!!

    Sent from my iPhone

  • 3. citricsugar  |  April 14, 2013 at 8:56 pm

    I bow to any and all who’ve tried it!! it looks beautiful. :-)

  • 4. brigitdermott  |  June 7, 2013 at 10:26 am

    I made a Weekender last year with all the interfacing and it is definitely challenging. Your bag is so lovely I’m really tempted to try another one using this method. Great work! You can see my finished bag at homemadecity.com if you’re interested…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

The South Bay Area Modern Quilt Guild

The Patchwork Prism Quilt Along

The Single Girl Support Group

Flickr Photos

@yespositively here's a heart for you!  Sorry it's a bit late, but it will be in the mail soon #stashbee #pixelatedheart











More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 143 other followers

Feeds

About Little Blue Cottage

A blog about quilts, quilting, and quilters, with stories of life, love, and fabrics thrown in.

My Pinterest Boards

Quilting Bloggers Logo

WIP Wednesday

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

